ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Current solutions and designs.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by exxos » Thu May 30, 2019 4:02 pm

PhilC wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 3:50 pm
Can you build the circuit on a breadboard to rule out any inconsistencies with PCBs?

And I know it's obvious but have you tried a different ST, in case its the ST that's killing the chips? Just a thought.
I have tried a different ST already, does not make any difference...

The original FMC board I can see the 32khz.. but on the new boards. I don't.. odd...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by exxos » Thu May 30, 2019 4:19 pm

Okay I figured it out... :roll:

When I run AUTOFMC it flashes up the message (which goes too fast for me to read it) but after several tries it says " clock is not running, please set it"... So loading the program, clicking "READ" pops up a box saying the clock is not running... So I have been taking this error message as there is no communication to the board and that is why it is not running... aka dead board. However, if I do actually SET the clock, it then starts running :roll:

So new chips must basically have the clock STOPPED (which gives the impression of a dead chip).. I have been assuming once it is powered up, the time and date would automatically start running, regardless of what time and date was actually set (IE it would start from 0 0 0 and just start counting, but it does not :roll: ).

So it is partly my fault for making incorrect assumptions on what the error message was actually meaning :( also making the wrong assumption that the clock would automatically run without having to SET it first :roll:

#bobslaw
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by PhilC » Thu May 30, 2019 4:34 pm

At least you got there in the end and you know that the other chips you purchased aren't dead either, which is a bonus!

#chalkituptoexperience
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 5:02 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 4:19 pm
Okay I figured it out... :roll:

When I run AUTOFMC it flashes up the message (which goes too fast for me to read it) but after several tries it says " clock is not running, please set it"... So loading the program, clicking "READ" pops up a box saying the clock is not running... So I have been taking this error message as there is no communication to the board and that is why it is not running... aka dead board. However, if I do actually SET the clock, it then starts running :roll:

So new chips must basically have the clock STOPPED (which gives the impression of a dead chip).. I have been assuming once it is powered up, the time and date would automatically start running, regardless of what time and date was actually set (IE it would start from 0 0 0 and just start counting, but it does not :roll: ).

So it is partly my fault for making incorrect assumptions on what the error message was actually meaning :( also making the wrong assumption that the clock would automatically run without having to SET it first :roll:

#bobslaw
Also, in my experience, if you don't have a battery plugged in, then the clock card doesn't play nice. There are details in the docs I wrote on page 8: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... lation.pdf

You also really need to use FMCII_9F.PRG for setting since it is Y2K 'compliant' :o

You may find it plays weirdly under TOS2.06 too, detailed on page 9 of the same document.

If it follows the same schematic as the earlier purple proto boards, then everything in the install doc should be the same.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by exxos » Thu May 30, 2019 5:56 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 5:02 pm
Also, in my experience, if you don't have a battery plugged in, then the clock card doesn't play nice. There are details in the docs I wrote on page 8: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... lation.pdf

You also really need to use FMCII_9F.PRG for setting since it is Y2K 'compliant' :o

You may find it plays weirdly under TOS2.06 too, detailed on page 9 of the same document.

If it follows the same schematic as the earlier purple proto boards, then everything in the install doc should be the same.
yeah it's all the same circuit, I do have the battery in ( I did half recall there was a issue with the battery out, but wasn't sure).. FMCII_9F yep using that one..

Next time I have my STE connected, I will give it a try with TOS206...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm

Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by exxos » Thu May 30, 2019 10:27 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm
Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊
There is something odd with 206... It just keep saying "incorrect number of days for that month", regardless of whatever I input in.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri May 31, 2019 8:26 am

exxos wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 10:27 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm
Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊
There is something odd with 206... It just keep saying "incorrect number of days for that month", regardless of whatever I input in.
As I said, it's weird. Make sure you boot up without any of the autofmc bits or the y2K updater and set the clock with FMCII.PRG, then FMCII_9F.PRG, should work after that. Page 9 has all the details.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by exxos » Fri May 31, 2019 11:12 am

Maybe there is a bug in the DALLASRTC PRG ... Wheres Troed when ya need him...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri May 31, 2019 11:22 am

exxos wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 11:12 am
Maybe there is a bug in the DALLASRTC PRG ... Wheres Troed when ya need him...
Yeah, might be!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Post Reply