Page 5 of 6

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:02 pm
by exxos
PhilC wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 3:50 pm
Can you build the circuit on a breadboard to rule out any inconsistencies with PCBs?

And I know it's obvious but have you tried a different ST, in case its the ST that's killing the chips? Just a thought.
I have tried a different ST already, does not make any difference...

The original FMC board I can see the 32khz.. but on the new boards. I don't.. odd...

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:19 pm
by exxos
Okay I figured it out... :roll:

When I run AUTOFMC it flashes up the message (which goes too fast for me to read it) but after several tries it says " clock is not running, please set it"... So loading the program, clicking "READ" pops up a box saying the clock is not running... So I have been taking this error message as there is no communication to the board and that is why it is not running... aka dead board. However, if I do actually SET the clock, it then starts running :roll:

So new chips must basically have the clock STOPPED (which gives the impression of a dead chip).. I have been assuming once it is powered up, the time and date would automatically start running, regardless of what time and date was actually set (IE it would start from 0 0 0 and just start counting, but it does not :roll: ).

So it is partly my fault for making incorrect assumptions on what the error message was actually meaning :( also making the wrong assumption that the clock would automatically run without having to SET it first :roll:

#bobslaw

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:34 pm
by PhilC
At least you got there in the end and you know that the other chips you purchased aren't dead either, which is a bonus!

#chalkituptoexperience

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 5:02 pm
by rubber_jonnie
exxos wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 4:19 pm
Okay I figured it out... :roll:

When I run AUTOFMC it flashes up the message (which goes too fast for me to read it) but after several tries it says " clock is not running, please set it"... So loading the program, clicking "READ" pops up a box saying the clock is not running... So I have been taking this error message as there is no communication to the board and that is why it is not running... aka dead board. However, if I do actually SET the clock, it then starts running :roll:

So new chips must basically have the clock STOPPED (which gives the impression of a dead chip).. I have been assuming once it is powered up, the time and date would automatically start running, regardless of what time and date was actually set (IE it would start from 0 0 0 and just start counting, but it does not :roll: ).

So it is partly my fault for making incorrect assumptions on what the error message was actually meaning :( also making the wrong assumption that the clock would automatically run without having to SET it first :roll:

#bobslaw
Also, in my experience, if you don't have a battery plugged in, then the clock card doesn't play nice. There are details in the docs I wrote on page 8: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... lation.pdf

You also really need to use FMCII_9F.PRG for setting since it is Y2K 'compliant' :o

You may find it plays weirdly under TOS2.06 too, detailed on page 9 of the same document.

If it follows the same schematic as the earlier purple proto boards, then everything in the install doc should be the same.

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 5:56 pm
by exxos
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 5:02 pm
Also, in my experience, if you don't have a battery plugged in, then the clock card doesn't play nice. There are details in the docs I wrote on page 8: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... lation.pdf

You also really need to use FMCII_9F.PRG for setting since it is Y2K 'compliant' :o

You may find it plays weirdly under TOS2.06 too, detailed on page 9 of the same document.

If it follows the same schematic as the earlier purple proto boards, then everything in the install doc should be the same.
yeah it's all the same circuit, I do have the battery in ( I did half recall there was a issue with the battery out, but wasn't sure).. FMCII_9F yep using that one..

Next time I have my STE connected, I will give it a try with TOS206...

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm
by rubber_jonnie
Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Thu May 30, 2019 10:27 pm
by exxos
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm
Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊
There is something odd with 206... It just keep saying "incorrect number of days for that month", regardless of whatever I input in.

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Fri May 31, 2019 8:26 am
by rubber_jonnie
exxos wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 10:27 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm
Cool should work fine, just follow the guide I wrote 😊
There is something odd with 206... It just keep saying "incorrect number of days for that month", regardless of whatever I input in.
As I said, it's weird. Make sure you boot up without any of the autofmc bits or the y2K updater and set the clock with FMCII.PRG, then FMCII_9F.PRG, should work after that. Page 9 has all the details.

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Fri May 31, 2019 11:12 am
by exxos
Maybe there is a bug in the DALLASRTC PRG ... Wheres Troed when ya need him...

Re: ST RTC EXTERNAL BETA - WIP

Posted: Fri May 31, 2019 11:22 am
by rubber_jonnie
exxos wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 11:12 am
Maybe there is a bug in the DALLASRTC PRG ... Wheres Troed when ya need him...
Yeah, might be!