Does this indicate bad connection

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
zChris
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Does this indicate bad connection

Post by zChris » Sun Feb 21, 2021 9:20 pm

Im coming further in my TF536 project. I have soldered on a socket for MC68000. Successfully (so i think atleast) burnt agranlunds version of emutos 0.91 on to 6 eproms. EmuTOS starts fine and i get into EmuCON if i have the original MC68000 in the socket.

But when i put in TF536 i get a white screen. But if i press the reset x amount of times i get this image :

Image

does this indicate problem with connection between my socket and tf536? Or might it be the socket itself thats the problem? Or perhaps the EPROMs?

The TF536 i bought from PhilC soldered and ready.

best regards zChris

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13838
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by exxos » Sun Feb 21, 2021 9:26 pm

its probably a bad connection.. Just wipe the headers with IPA to start with.. then reseat the 030 CPU see if that helps.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

zChris
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by zChris » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:24 pm

Alright , did not help. This is how the soldering on the socket on the motherboard looks like (see attachment).

Do you think a DiagROM for Atari ST will be helpful here?

best regards zChris

DSC_1067.JPG
DSC_1067.JPG (293.05 KiB) Viewed 226 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13838
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by exxos » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:41 pm

Is your PSU recapped ? Have you done any of the mandatory fixes yet ?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3887
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by PhilC » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:41 pm

It's a bit hard to see in the photo @zChris but looks like you need to clean off some of the flux, some of it is very dark, ie burnt and might indicate that the iron temp was too hot.

Give it a good clean with IPA and have another look at it up close.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

zChris
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by zChris » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:42 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:41 pm
Is your PSU recapped ? Have you done any of the mandatory fixes yet ?
No im not aware of mandatory fixes?

zChris
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by zChris » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:42 pm

PhilC wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:41 pm
It's a bit hard to see in the photo @zChris but looks like you need to clean off some of the flux, some of it is very dark, ie burnt and might indicate that the iron temp was too hot.

Give it a good clean with IPA and have another look at it up close.
Alright will give it clean tomorrow.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13838
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by exxos » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:52 pm

zChris wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:42 pm
No im not aware of mandatory fixes?
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

zChris
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by zChris » Wed Mar 03, 2021 8:24 pm

Hello,

I have no done the no 12 on the mandatory list. Gotten a labpsu to use instead of recapping the old one.

Its the same results. Work with original MC68000 processor and not with the turbo. What do you suggest i look for now ?

/zChris

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13838
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Does this indicate bad connection

Post by exxos » Wed Mar 03, 2021 9:06 pm

You would probably have to send your machine to @PhilC with the TF536 to look at. Though getting stuff running on original machines is a PITA at the best of times.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”