Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:10 pm

So I have finally managed to move all the stuff from my house to the boss lady's .
I have an A3000 with an arm 3 upgrade, extra ram and a IDE pod.
On boot it displays a red screen which some times changes to purple.
I have access to a scope .
The battery has been removed and a new holder fitted.
Do I recap the PSU before I go further
Any ideas or help or abuse gratefully received

Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:18 pm

A few thoughts:-

Have you held down DELETE whilst powering on yet? (reset the NVRAM)

In the event of a boot failure, the NUM LOCK light should blink a number of times to indicate fault.

I had to replace the NVRAM chip on mine, I can't remember exactly the failure mode, but it had been working then died a week after I'd 'finished' restoring it. Is the little (eight pin?) one down by the battery.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:25 pm

Cheers . Holding delete gives same response .
NUM lock not flashing
Disc light flashing as though trying to load something running it off a start cable. Same result on mono.

RetroPassionUK
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 9:30 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by RetroPassionUK » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:06 pm

Sorry its a A3000? If so push down all the chips, I know it sounds simple but recovered a few machines with that :-)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16041
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by exxos » Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:26 pm

I have moved this post to the Amiga hardware help.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Steve
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Steve » Thu Sep 16, 2021 11:21 pm

@exxos tis' Acorn he's talking about :)

User avatar
JezC
Posts: 1303
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by JezC » Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:26 am

Do we need separate sections for Acorn, SGI etc.?

;)

User avatar
Steve
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Steve » Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:31 am

Hey @philbo34 just in case you don't know, the main Acorn forum is stardot.co.uk just in case you need more specific help.

Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:52 am

philbo34 wrote:
Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Cheers . Holding delete gives same response .
NUM lock not flashing
Disc light flashing as though trying to load something running it off a start cable. Same result on mono.
Sorry, I completely misremembered that. It’s not Num Lock, it’s one of the two LEDS up next to the BBC logo. Could well be the disc one you mention.

Is it pulsing in blocks? That’s the error code.

https://www.retro-kit.co.uk/page.cfm/co ... re-errors/

Check out the section POST Error Calculator.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5pcs-PCF8583 ... 1500143888

If it’s anything NVRAM or CMOS related, have a look at connectivity around the above chip (bottom left corner of the motherboard). As I say, I had to swap mine out after a week of working fine.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Fri Sep 17, 2021 10:19 am

Cheers for all the advice.
Various errors
CMOS unreadable
CMOS checksum
ROM checksum
Ram address line

So will start by unplugging the additional bits
And looking at the CMOS chip and area round where the battery was

Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”