Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Tue Sep 21, 2021 12:07 pm

Any update @philbo34?

Cheers,

BW.
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Tue Sep 21, 2021 5:29 pm

Sorry been on nights so brain fuddled. Didn't realise phone had logged me out.
New CMOS chip ordered
Downloaded schematics and traced a few connections .
Found a couple that had a higher resistance .
Board getting a good clean and will go from there .
Will post pics when get chance .
Cheers to everyone for the advice

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Sun Sep 26, 2021 4:08 pm

well chip i ordered delivery is nov ,so reordering .
i think a bit more of a clean up is needed
and moding so i diode in circuit .
will socket the chip as well. apart from that looks pretty clean .

IMG_20210926_154916888_HDR.jpg
IMG_20210926_154916888_HDR.jpg (143.92 KiB) Viewed 289 times
IMG_20210926_154905999.jpg
IMG_20210926_154905999.jpg (78.49 KiB) Viewed 289 times
IMG_20210926_154901211.jpg
IMG_20210926_154901211.jpg (73.67 KiB) Viewed 289 times

Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:08 am

Certainly not the worst, but there's a bit more green in those pictures than I'd be happy with. And I don't mean the passives!

Just off-camera to the left of the middle pic (board north) the chip legs look decidely iffy and there's a few green plugged vias in shot. One more time with the vinegar and fibre-glass pen, maybe? Worth it if you're sat on your hands waiting for supplies ;-)

That said, probably nothing that should stop it working now -- it does sound like it's that CMOS/NVRAM chip, though.

Is that an ARM upgrade I see on the right?

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:30 am

Thanks for the advice .
So far I've not done anything that's how I got it.
Luckily on nights all week now lol . So clean up in order.
Yes think it's a. Arm 3 . 50mhz

Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:48 am

philbo34 wrote:
Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:30 am
Luckily on nights all week now lol . So clean up in order.
That's a postive spin! :lol:
Yes think it's a. Arm 3 . 50mhz
Wow! Very nice. It'll go like a turd off a twig when you get it up and running. :thumbup:

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Wed Sep 29, 2021 11:15 am

Not heard that expression in a long time.
Dying too see what's on hard disc .
Got it a while ago for fitting some outside sockets.

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:07 pm

So removed the old chip and added a socket.
Big clean up done .
Now I get alternate red and purple screens.
But picture is steady.
On to the next error code.
Does an a3000 need a battery too boot ?
Heading over to stardot for some reading

Badwolf
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by Badwolf » Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:12 pm

philbo34 wrote:
Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:07 pm
Now I get alternate red and purple screens.
...
Does an a3000 need a battery too boot ?
Progress! :-)

Don't think it needs a battery to boot, but you would need to reset the CMOS/NVRAM chip each power up [holding down DEL] if you don't have one.

There's space in the case for a 2xAA battery holder, BTW. You may need to wire in a diode, or remove a link somewhere -- I forget the details, but *. will definitely know.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)

philbo34
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:46 am

Re: Well really 32 but but want sure best place to post

Post by philbo34 » Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:18 pm

Cheers .
Looks like my current error is ROM related . So socket and leg clean up next.
Is a dead computer a valid reason to not go to work lol

Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”