Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Share your building progress here!
User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Mon Oct 18, 2021 5:19 pm

OK, so I am getting a lot of the same issues with cloudy on the MEGAST.

SO maybe I have damaged the cloudy somehow. I will talk to the designers about that.

I SHOULD be able to run the the Lightning, storm, with the Exxos decoder and DUAL TOS - I get 2.06 and 1.4 and I guess run EMU TOS from disk.

James

User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Darklord » Thu Oct 21, 2021 7:58 am

Hey James.

Okay, I had to take my Mega ST4 back apart, what with my little adventure with
trying to flash the latest EmuTOS to my Cloudy Decoder board. Point being, I
took the opportunity to (hopefully) do some better pictures. I hope this helps.

P1010008.JPG
P1010008.JPG (239.26 KiB) Viewed 801 times
P1010014.JPG
P1010014.JPG (333.56 KiB) Viewed 801 times
P1010020.JPG
P1010020.JPG (325.97 KiB) Viewed 801 times
P1010025.JPG
P1010025.JPG (299.83 KiB) Viewed 801 times
P1010028.JPG
P1010028.JPG (292.13 KiB) Viewed 801 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16603
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:16 am

IMHO I would just put your name down for a flasyclock. Its designed for the H5 and simple to install.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Sat Oct 23, 2021 6:46 pm

DoG wrote:
Sat Oct 16, 2021 11:43 pm

Aah, great. That solves the extra wire I couldn't find when reading about the three board. It's on the STorm link. I have edited my post above about it. Sorry.
OK Exxos and DoG.. you two seem to know this best.

The CE pin.. is a combined R1/2/3 signal?? What does the pin on the other side of those 2 do?

IS the point you pointed out Exxos the only place to grab a straight R2?? and if so.. I am still not sure on the board where that is.. for me to attempt to get a header pin in there???

NOW.. all that said.. I have everything working with the STorm.. SO as long as you are using the STORM to do the decoding.. in the H5c1 I can get the full Lighting Storm and Cloudy working.. So I am very happy with that.

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16603
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 24, 2021 12:01 am

Was already explained here viewtopic.php?f=89&t=4505&p=72616#p72616
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Sun Oct 31, 2021 12:11 am

Could this module be used on the H5?

I happen to have one lying around.

HTB19CrjXOHrK1Rjy0Flq6AsaFXa9.jpg
HTB19CrjXOHrK1Rjy0Flq6AsaFXa9.jpg (18.38 KiB) Viewed 665 times

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:36 pm

exxos wrote:
Sun Oct 24, 2021 12:01 am
Was already explained here viewtopic.php?f=89&t=4505&p=72616#p72616
Thanks for that Exxos, if I decide I do want to use the cloudy on the board there are several good areas there to grab it.

Couple of quick things.. where is VGA discussed on the H boards? aka I have a VGA socket now.. I could install it, but I dont know how RGB/BW is handled - is it the jumper inside "RGB/Mono Switch" I just run a switch to the outside? There is something about AUTO?

I would be correct to assume if I had a 1.44 floppy in an external drive it would work as well since I have done the 1.44 upgrade?

Waiting on my IDE to CF adapter and then this machine is ready to rock. I wish we had that DESKTOPPER case still around. I would love to re-house this in something STish.. but that I would have room for more addons.

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16603
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:46 pm

RGB Jumpers viewtopic.php?f=89&t=3563#p52248 might be slightly different on later boards but the jumper is still there. Its labeled on the silkscreen anyway.

External 1.44 will work if you wire the HD select line like you do with the internal drive.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Nov 24, 2021 10:25 pm

So I went on the H5c1 to test my re-capped PSU.. which I had already tested on another 1040st. One thing I noticed.. and I am not sure it was doing it before, might have been.. was focused on other things..

The floppy operation (sony 920) is echoed in the sound output through the TV.. when the motor in the 920 spins there is also a lot of static(motor noise) in the monitor speakers as well.. I can do a recording on my phone if anyone thinks it will help.

Now it does not happy on the other 1040st.. different floppy drive (STOCK Epson 380) but same PSU.

Thanks

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:44 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 10:25 pm
So I went on the H5c1 to test my re-capped PSU.. which I had already tested on another 1040st. One thing I noticed.. and I am not sure it was doing it before, might have been.. was focused on other things..

The floppy operation (sony 920) is echoed in the sound output through the TV.. when the motor in the 920 spins there is also a lot of static(motor noise) in the monitor speakers as well.. I can do a recording on my phone if anyone thinks it will help.

Now it does not happy on the other 1040st.. different floppy drive (STOCK Epson 380) but same PSU.

Thanks

James
Could this have to do with the modification I had to make to get the sound out in the first place?? maybe the wrong value on the Resistor? I will take a pic and show. It would seem I am having the same issues as here viewtopic.php?f=107&t=4593&hilit=noise+ ... =30#p70649

James

Post Reply

Return to “H5 C1 USER BUILDS”