Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Share your building progress here!
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16041
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:44 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:25 pm
Here is the pic.

I re-flowed the joints on the Floppy port, I dont think any were bad, but they all got a touch up
How have you got the jumpers above the 1772 setup ? Have you tried a different sound IC ?

Also does the external drive spin up when accessed ?
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:19 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:44 pm
Bikerbob wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 3:25 pm
Here is the pic.

I re-flowed the joints on the Floppy port, I dont think any were bad, but they all got a touch up
How have you got the jumpers above the 1772 setup ? Have you tried a different sound IC ?

Also does the external drive spin up when accessed ?
Sorry did not realise I left that out of the pic.. yes the top jumpers are currently set for INTERNAL drive A and external B.. I have tried it both ways.

YES - The drive spins up.. seems like its reading.. but not ... I know the drive is good.. it reads on 2 other machines I have.

Not I have not tried another sound chip.. I am not sure I have one that is not soldered.

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16041
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:22 pm

Have you continuity checked the socket right back to where all the connections go to ? The schematic is published with all the wiring on it.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:56 pm

H5 schematic Exxos? or you mean the STD STF .. I guess schematic wise they are the same?

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16041
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Wed Oct 06, 2021 12:35 am

Bikerbob wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:56 pm
H5 schematic Exxos? or you mean the STD STF .. I guess schematic wise they are the same?
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=3457
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:40 am

I would like to add this board to my H5.. has anyone else looked at this?

https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=40201

https://github.com/c0pperdragon/Amiga-D ... o/issues/6

thanks

James

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4570
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by PhilC » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:10 am

@Bikerbob it's on my list to try.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by DoG » Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:29 am

I have used RGB2HDMI on my H5 B1. I used buffered shifter board (by IanSB) and just picked up v- and hsync with pinheaders on the main board.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Oct 06, 2021 3:30 pm

This is the board I am getting. I understand Icky is doing one too.. which of course might fit this board better. I am open to that.

rgb2hdmi.jpg
rgb2hdmi.jpg (265.42 KiB) Viewed 133 times



According to the thread I am following I might need to attach UP TO 16 lines.. depending on the machine. So interested to know DoG if this was the one or one like it you did.

edit - ok read the thread you pointed me to DoG, seems like I am getting ONE board out of a few that others are using. I could make the shifter board, and the ribbon cable or find locations to pick it up from.. NOw with the H5 it would seem those extra boards would be a very good idea. HMMMM now I need to get the pcbs for those and it looks like the shifter board has some SMD work. crap.

James

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by DoG » Wed Oct 06, 2021 3:47 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 3:30 pm
HMMMM now I need to get the pcbs for those and it looks like the shifter board has some SMD work. crap.
IanSB did two version of the shifter board. The buffered one (with the SMD stuff on it) is only needed if the board you have (with CPLD) is going to be far away from it. If you are going to keep it fairly close you don't have to solder any SMD and just get the other shifter board.

Since all the guys using RGB2HDMI on an STe uses wires directly soldered in on the motherboard (ie without buffer logic) I think you would be fine using the non-buffer-shifter-board (puh!).

Post Reply

Return to “H5 C1 USER BUILDS”