Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Share your building progress here!
User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Wed Oct 13, 2021 8:48 pm

OK, so for mine, I did not buy the RTC module because I have a FMCII from B.gossin.

Now.. I know I am forgetting something.. but would not the TOS 2.06 have the Y2k fixed?

Is not MegaSTE etc.. able to set the clock and work right without a Y2k patch?

I know I have US with RTC and thought that this was not an issue anymore, but on the H5 I cannot set the year past 99..

Sorry guys, but where am I looking for this?? I have googled.. but what I am finding is Troed site.. that is still using a fix etc..

Found Aslands RTCX software.. is this better to use? You have to USE SOMETHING though on every TOS except EMUTOS correct?

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:20 pm

Ok, ran Gembench for 4 hours today. Both floppies working. FMCII working with Dallas1 from Asland.. :)

OK, that said, I would like to put my STorm/Lightning and cloudy in the machine.

SO.. I need to remove the DUAL TOS and the decoder board. I can put the stuff in the 5v slot the decoder was in.

I am not sure how to connect the cloudy to the H5.. anyone done that yet? I assume I am using the same CE pad that the decoder was using.

I will do some examining and see if the group there has any ideas.

Thanks

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16016
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:26 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:20 pm
Ok, ran Gembench for 4 hours today. Both floppies working.
So what was the problem then ??
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Steve
Posts: 1337
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Steve » Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:45 pm

Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:20 pm
Ok, ran Gembench for 4 hours today. Both floppies working.
Howwwwwwwww!

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Oct 14, 2021 8:30 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:26 pm
Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:20 pm
Ok, ran Gembench for 4 hours today. Both floppies working.
So what was the problem then ??
What was the problem with the Floppies?? well I think I finally got a bunch of things right.. Got it fitted in the case without the board being flexed.. that plastic "peg" that was not fitting.

I got the jumper combination working for both the 920 and the external floppy - aka the 8/16mhz jumper as well as the forcing not forcing HD jumper.

I took out the YAM the 1772 and the 1.44 gal and reseated them...

Then went about testing.. as I said.. I was not able to get the diag cart floppy speed test to work. but after I fixed the case I noticed the external floppy was working better.. I also got 3-4 floppies that I KNOW worked in both drives.. for testing.. I think the 920 might be running a bit slow.. and I think some floppies were not working with it.. but I cannot be certain.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Oct 14, 2021 8:33 pm

Steve wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:45 pm
Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:20 pm
Ok, ran Gembench for 4 hours today. Both floppies working.
Howwwwwwwww!
The running of Gembench for 4 hours was just a stress test, wanted to make sure it's running well. I have a blitter in it now. I have everything working... as far as I can tell. SO now I want to move on and get my IDE/ ALT RAM/ USB/ RTC/ DUAL TOS with EMU TOS in there.

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Oct 14, 2021 9:30 pm

Ok, so it looks like the Thunder/Storm/Lighting/Cloudy is going to fit into SLOT 2 - cloudy on bottom Thunder/Lighting middle and Storm on top.. That clears the keyboard and the MFP. RP2 pin on Lighting to CE on board.

BUT - I need to get a line from the lighting INT to pin 10 of the DMA port. I have not read it anywhere.. there is no access point to the DMI INT line on the board is there? OR will I have to try and get to the pin at the socket?

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 16016
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 14, 2021 9:38 pm

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (94.32 KiB) Viewed 117 times

There are two pads on the C1 which give you access to that pin.

C2 will have the additional pad as illustrated above.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Thu Oct 14, 2021 10:22 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Oct 14, 2021 9:38 pm
Capture.JPG


There are two pads on the C1 which give you access to that pin.

C2 will have the additional pad as illustrated above.
ahhh.. well I soldered to the pin since it was easy to access.. all good!

20211014_170712.jpg
20211014_170712.jpg (325.13 KiB) Viewed 104 times
20211014_170716.jpg
20211014_170716.jpg (183.84 KiB) Viewed 104 times
20211014_170723.jpg
20211014_170723.jpg (91.68 KiB) Viewed 104 times

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Bikerbob's H5 C1 build

Post by Bikerbob » Fri Oct 15, 2021 2:01 pm

Can anyone confirm for me that the traces that I am trying to use to pick up the 5 volts and ground are indeed what I think they are?

Post Reply

Return to “H5 C1 USER BUILDS”