Internal Gotek/FlashFloppy and external disk drive

Update your old 720k to a 1.44 drive etc.
User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Internal Gotek/FlashFloppy and external disk drive

Post by sandord » Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:44 pm

DoG wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:55 pm
Yup. Isn't the gotek made as a pc floppy connector and the atari drives is Shugart connected? I solved it temporarily by removing MO (motor) jumper on the gotek. Didn't work that great though. It kind of work. I had to switch the power on/off on the SF314 to get it to work. But I had some other troubles also with the USB stick so I don't know if it was related.

Maybe desolder pin 12 on the gotek might do the trick?

http://old.pinouts.ru/HD/InternalDisk_pinout.shtml
Ugh, I was talking about how I say that the motor jumper was off in some instruction but you actually already told me so. I should read more carefully.

Now that the motor jumper is off, I'm experiencing some weird things.

- Sometimes the ST won't boot from the Gotek with the SF314 powered on.
- After formatting a Gotek image from GEM, I get a 0 bytes available message. When switching to another image using the buttons on the gotek, it is shown as empty.

I can read and write disks with no problem however. So probably there's still some disturbance between the Gotek and the SF314 going on.

I can live with the current situation for now but I still hope to find out how to separate the two better.

rcamp48
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:14 am

Re: Internal Gotek/FlashFloppy and external disk drive

Post by rcamp48 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:41 am

I am having similar problems, after updating the Gotek with drive B (external sf414) connected I get ERROR LBA change test failed ! Write Issue?

Russ

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1056
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Internal Gotek/FlashFloppy and external disk drive

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Jan 31, 2019 11:17 am

Don't forget if you're using FlashFloppy firmware (And I'd suggest it is well worth doing so) there is a config file called FF.CFG that can be placed in the root of your USB stick that can override default FlashFloppy values, and write them to the firmware, just by powering on the Gotek with the file in the root. After that, the new values are written, including the interface type i.e. Shugart, ibmpc, ibmpc-hdout, akai-s950 etc.

May be worth a read, the detail is here: https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wi ... ation-File

Better that, than reach for the soldering iron!

FYI I have a Datel external case, which is basically a cable from the floppy external port to the drive (I'm gonna map out the pin connections later, see about making another cable, just for kicks :) ), and the floppy drive in that is set to DS0.

This works externally on a 1040 STF, so clearly the ST is doing the part of deciding which is drive A and drive B, despite both being set to DS0. I expect some sort of cable select is being done electronically, a bit like in the PC where drive A and B are both set to DS1, but a twist in the cable between the connectors determines the drive lettering.

By swapping out to a Gotek, also set to DS0, it worked fine as a drive B. My earlier thread is here: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1531&start=10#p16753

BTW, I do not use the motor on jumper, just DS0 and nothing else.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

guus.assmann
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:52 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: Internal Gotek/FlashFloppy and external disk drive

Post by guus.assmann » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:48 pm

Hello,
An Internal floppy is selected on wire 10, that's connected to DS0 select from the Atari.
The external connector is connected to the second floppy select from the Atari.
To use the internal cable, the D1 line from the Atari should be connected to wire 12 in the flat cable.
Then a drive set as DS1 will be selected.
If setup like this, 2 drives can be connected to the internal cable. (DS0 and DS1 select)

BR/
Guus

Post Reply