Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Update your old 720k to a 1.44 drive etc.
User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 690
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by IngoQ » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:40 am

Yeah, I can relate to that ;)
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

tfhh
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by tfhh » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:13 pm

Maeke wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:32 am
1)-the challenge.
2)-having the fdd socket for free.
3)-Destroying an already dead pc motherboard.
Ok, nice & comitted :lol:

Jurgen

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:40 pm

Thinking about it , I have a stack of those connectors *somewhere* . Its one of the items I got to fit on the STF remake motherboard 8-)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:45 pm

tfhh wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:58 am

That´s one of the first things I ever do in any Atari ST/STE with floppy inside :)

Just for the records... why are you re-use the one from the PC mainboard? These connectors are easily to find normally. Or I didn´t see the goal...

Jurgen
Hey Jurgen.

There were a few reasons I did it this way.

1) The dead mainboard meant I had a socket going begging when I needed one :D
2) The challenge to improve my STE and my soldering skills at the same time
3) Recycling. Its the way forward :lol:

Normally, I would have just bought a socket, but it was there, on the dead mainboard. Taunting me!!

:D
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:46 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:40 pm
Thinking about it , I have a stack of those connectors *somewhere* . Its one of the items I got to fit on the STF remake motherboard 8-)
Yeah, please make sure you fit one!!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fitting of a 34 pin standard FDD socket to an Atari ST

Post by exxos » Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:47 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:46 pm
exxos wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:40 pm
Thinking about it , I have a stack of those connectors *somewhere* . Its one of the items I got to fit on the STF remake motherboard 8-)
Yeah, please make sure you fit one!!
Yes, it is added on the first revision :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply