Page 3 of 10

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:22 pm
by rubber_jonnie
What model of Gotek do you have? There is a number next to the 34 pin connector. I have heard some are not entirely compatible so worth checking.

Otherwise it may be a problem drive. Can you test it on another machine?

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:17 pm
by dan_bremen
Model is SFRC922D, I will try to downgrade again but for the moment I'm getting "ERR" on the screen when trying so maybe I will need to flash again with the PC :?

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:53 pm
by rubber_jonnie
That model is OK, can you post a pic of your jumpers on the Gotek please.

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:27 pm
by arkadiusz.makarenko
dan_bremen wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:17 pm
Model is SFRC922D, I will try to downgrade again but for the moment I'm getting "ERR" on the screen when trying so maybe I will need to flash again with the PC :?
I would suggest to order new Gotek. It is only £15?

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
by bfollowell
I always hate to revive old threads, but this one seems to be a pinned thread, and someone may later benefit from my question, so I'll ask away.

First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04. Will someone that knows confirm that one way or the other?

Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?

Thanks!

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:50 pm
by DoG
bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04
TOS version doesn't matter. As long as it can read a normal disk drive you are fine swapping it for a Gotek.
bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?
Should be as simple as that. If the disk drive works on both system now it should work when swapped with a Gotek.

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 6:29 pm
by bfollowell
That's awesome news! Just what I was hoping to hear.

Thanks.

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:30 pm
by stephen_usher
bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
I always hate to revive old threads, but this one seems to be a pinned thread, and someone may later benefit from my question, so I'll ask away.

First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04. Will someone that knows confirm that one way or the other?

Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?

Thanks!
You have to be aware that the SF314 have three different sets of internals. Two of them use a normal Shugart ribbon connector and pin-out but the third has a very different (Chinon specific) one which takes a bit of work to make it compatible.

By the way, there’s a new Gotek compatible which uses an SD card instead of a USB drive and specifically designed to fit in an Amiga, which may be a better fit for the Ataris. It’s called a Goex drive.

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:16 pm
by bfollowell
I was able to just swap it out, like DoG said, and everything worked perfectly, at least with the one drive. I have two other drives and haven't check those out yet, but the original drive that came with the 520STM system I'm checking out worked perfectly.

I'll keep an eye on the others.

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:51 pm
by stephen_usher
This is what the Chinon interface looks like:
IMG_1615.jpg
IMG_1615.jpg (49.86 KiB) Viewed 1117 times