A/B drive swap switch

Update your old 720k to a 1.44 drive etc.
Post Reply
Gunstick
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:42 pm

A/B drive swap switch

Post by Gunstick » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:33 pm

Hi

There is an advantage to have drive A external to the ST as it allows to have a single Gotek/HxC to use on multiple STs.
Here are some infos about how to put a switch in the ST which changes the internal to external drive and vice/versa
https://rdemming.home.xs4all.nl/Atari/DriveSwapAtariST/

But it needs cutting YM pins or PCB traces. And today people try to avoid modding too much the old STs. So is there another solution?

Look at this page
http://info-coach.fr/atari/hardware/int ... _Connector
which says that you can put dirve0 signal onto the external connector instead of the drive1 signal. This is done on the W2 (STF) or W300/W301 (STE) soldering pads.



This means that selecting A will now switch to both external and internal drives, which obviously is bad.
But as the internal drive is on a ribbon cable, it should be not too difficult to make the internal get the drive1 signal.

One could put a header in there and have a switch somewhere.


STF
w2.png
w2.png (319.97 KiB) Viewed 876 times

STE
w30w301.png
w30w301.png (189.67 KiB) Viewed 876 times


Or dump the internal drive altogether and run A and B as external.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 3410
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by exxos » Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:00 am

You could try talking to petari nicely as he is doing a lot of mods to TOS lately, to see if a software patch could be done to swap AB.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Gunstick
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by Gunstick » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:34 am

I guess an AUTO program can swap both drives when TOS/GEM is running. But for demo/games it's useless to change TOS, many switch off TOS and hammer around on the WD/YM directly.

Gunstick
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:42 pm

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by Gunstick » Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:04 pm

here is schemata on how to make a drive switch using the available soldering pads
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 10#p156680

also Troed did a "PCB trace cut" change himself and mad a nice blog post putting HxC and Floppy inside an STE
https://blog.troed.se/2014/10/21/atari- ... nd-b-swap/

I'm still thinking that it should be possible to have A/B switch and 2 drives inside without cutting pins or traces. I'll study that in some far away future...

tzok
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by tzok » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:37 pm

It is possible for STf and STe and I have described it here: Drive swap on STe without cutting pins/tracks.

troed
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by troed » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:47 pm

tzok wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:37 pm
It is possible for STf and STe and I have described it here: Drive swap on STe without cutting pins/tracks.
You're still cutting one trace though ... ?

tzok
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by tzok » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:03 pm

I'm only cutting a bridge between jumpers, not really a trace.

ube
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:34 am

Re: A/B drive swap switch

Post by ube » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:19 pm

Been doing some thinking about this. One (less intrusive/more reversible) solution would be to desolder the YM and add a 4pdt IC (such as ts5v330) and an Attiny on an addon PCB. Then either having the attiny read reset at boot (connected to R100); hold reset at power on to swap A/B or having it connected to the GPO pin on the YM and make a binary to swap A/B by swapping state (can't remember right now if there's a pull-up or pull-down on the ST).

The latter solution would be 100% STE proof since the GPO isn't routed anywhere on the mobo, STs have it routed to pin 5(?) on the video out. But on the other hand; have anyone seen some hardware made to use that pin, ever?

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 00.15.51.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 00.15.51.png (47.38 KiB) Viewed 357 times

Post Reply