Are business cards dead?

Atari talk, or the life and the universe and things. Just keep it clean!
DrF

Are business cards dead?

Post by DrF » Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:04 am

Your views on this :)

Are business cards dead?

I'm asking because of 2 things, I cant remember the last time someone actually gave me a physical card and today someone wanted to send me a digital one.

Someone just showed me a book of business cards he collected his turned them into a phone book basically, I guess that could work :)
Could just take a photo with a phone now and use that too.

Never thought a bit of cardboard would be such a complex thing :lol:

Gargoyle

Re: Are business cards dead?

Post by Gargoyle » Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:37 am

I work in the print industry here in NZ, while things are becoming digital or moving online there's still plenty of business cards being typeset and printed here. And yes, there's a book in the main production factory with a whole collection of various contacts and their business cards in slipcases. Clients are still willing to pay more for gold foiling, Spot UV layers and blind embossing too if they can afford it. If they want a cheaper option for gold print (as opposed to ink or foiling) we can offer a digitally printed gold toner too which is much cheaper. So yeah, I personally still see plenty of business cards surrounding me, lol!

derkom

Post by derkom » Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:42 am

I think they are dead around here, except for things like taxi drivers. I still sometimes am handed a business card by them, but other than that, I don't think I've been given a business card (in a business environment) in a long time. Last time I had any of my own, it was the 1990s, and I think I only gave away 20 out of a box of 500. :)

If you haven't seen this great scene from the movie American Psycho, check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cISYzA36-ZY