Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Atari talk, or the life and the universe and things. Just keep it clean!
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2025
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by PhilC » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:39 pm

There is an extra FF 07 on the bottom row(200)?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:40 pm

PhilC wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:39 pm
There is an extra FF on the bottom row?
Yeah, don't know why, assume its because that one has the actual file on it.. the other doesn't.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2025
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by PhilC » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:41 pm

If you can edit it, why not change it back and see the result?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:44 pm

PhilC wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:41 pm
If you can edit it, why not change it back and see the result?
I wrote the .ST file back to floppy and it works.. so I think its a "media" type problem..

I'm formatting a 1.44 as 720K see what happens....
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

stephen_usher
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by stephen_usher » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:46 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:32 pm
EDIT:

Just for the hell of it, I wrote the .ST file back to floppy.. now the PC can read it.. but desktop.inf isn't there... but it shows on the ST :stars:

EDIT2:

Now its showing up on the PC :WTF:
It's because the floppy serial number isn't unique probably and the PC is using a cached directory contents. The Atari breaks the standard (even with TOS >=1.4) in this way.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Same problems formatting 1.44 as 720K... I guess have to conclude for whatever reason the MPF920 drives are not liking 720K disks anymore... The one in the ST is a new drive, same model as in my PC.. I did change the PC one out with no change, so its not age of the drive or anything.. but I never really had such issues until recently.

Maybe the floppy controller in my PC has gone bad :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:16 pm

I swapped the ST drive to a original 720K drive and still no luck :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2025
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by PhilC » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:21 pm

I know it sounds obvious but have you taped over the HD hole? My PC wont recognise HD disks formatted to 720k unless I tape over the hole
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy corrupted when used on ST and PC won't read it ?

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:23 pm

PhilC wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:21 pm
I know it sounds obvious but have you taped over the HD hole? My PC wont recognise HD disks formatted to 720k unless I tape over the hole
yep.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “CHAT FORUM”