68060 dilemma

Atari talk, or the life and the universe and things. Just keep it clean!
User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

68060 dilemma

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:54 pm

Prices of Rev6 are beyond reasonable.
Would be there any value in potentially (if available) TF1260/360 and using cheap LC variants?
I am a little torn, if spending few hundred £ would be really worth it. (? to play Quake).
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3582
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:58 pm

arkadiusz.makarenko wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:54 pm
Prices of Rev6 are beyond reasonable.
Would be there any value in potentially (if available) TF1260/360 and using cheap LC variants?
I am a little torn, if spending few hundred £ would be really worth it. (? to play Quake).
The LC works nice on the TF360/TF1260.. its all about what you want to do.

For me Quake is a nice demo but since Quake isnt native to the Amiga its just that.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by alenppc » Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:59 pm

I think the LC060 is a perfectly valid alternative. You just need to make sure you don’t have any FPU libs on your system and you should be fine.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3834
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by PhilC » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:11 pm

Good info guys, was thinking of asking the same.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

sugar
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by sugar » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:16 pm

I think it's what many people are wondering now also in here. Is LC feasible next step all things Amiga? For most things the FPU is not needed but a lot of 060 specific software uses it. Obviously it's a lot faster than a 030 board without an FPU and also the LC chips prices are comparable to 030s so you could get a really fast card that would cost something like a low end ACA 1230 card. The LC CPUs are supposed to run at higher clock speeds than the non-rev6 full masks so again that's some added value.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3582
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:22 pm

sugar wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:16 pm
I think it's what many people are wondering now also in here. Is LC feasible next step all things Amiga? For most things the FPU is not needed but a lot of 060 specific software uses it. Obviously it's a lot faster than a 030 board without an FPU and also the LC chips prices are comparable to 030s so you could get a really fast card that would cost something like a low end ACA 1230 card. The LC CPUs are supposed to run at higher clock speeds than the non-rev6 full masks so again that's some added value.
For most things there is no gain in the FPU. You could get quake working using fixed point instead of float if you really wanted. Or using FPU emulation. Honestly would take an MMU over an FPU any day.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

sugar
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by sugar » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:24 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:22 pm
sugar wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:16 pm
I think it's what many people are wondering now also in here. Is LC feasible next step all things Amiga? For most things the FPU is not needed but a lot of 060 specific software uses it. Obviously it's a lot faster than a 030 board without an FPU and also the LC chips prices are comparable to 030s so you could get a really fast card that would cost something like a low end ACA 1230 card. The LC CPUs are supposed to run at higher clock speeds than the non-rev6 full masks so again that's some added value.
For most things there is no gain in the FPU. You could get quake working using fixed point instead of float if you really wanted. Or using FPU emulation. Honestly would take an MMU over an FPU any day.
I also believe that if there's enough new LC owners then also there will be new non-fpu versions of a lot of demos and software as often times it would just require a recompile. Now that I think of it I think there's already some newish non-fpu versions of 060 software since at least at some point Apollo Core didn't have an FPU.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3582
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:29 pm

Pocket Quake, for example, has been ported to fixed-point so its possible we could recompile AmiQuake.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Fri Aug 07, 2020 7:54 pm

After thinking about it, I would be happy with equivalent of TF330 in my A1200, so LC060+ even more fastram would meet all my Amiga needs.

Could someone recommend me to eBay (or any other source) listing for decent LC?
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

utri007
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by utri007 » Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:03 pm

Problem is that every library, app, or what ever expect 68060 have a FPU. So with LC variant, you can't use ANY 68060 specifig apps.

Post Reply

Return to “CHAT FORUM”