68060 dilemma

Atari talk, or the life and the universe and things. Just keep it clean!
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3683
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Fri Aug 07, 2020 11:44 pm

utri007 wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:03 pm
Problem is that every library, app, or what ever expect 68060 have a FPU. So with LC variant, you can't use ANY 68060 specifig apps.
Its perfectly possibly to trap missing FPU calls and emulate them. Its always surprised me that Amiga has made FPU usage so stupid. It should be transparent to every app.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by alenppc » Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:31 am

utri007 wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:03 pm
Problem is that every library, app, or what ever expect 68060 have a FPU. So with LC variant, you can't use ANY 68060 specifig apps.
I don’t know how true this is. Remember that 060 Apollo cards in the 90s were released in LC and EC versions. Yes you do have to change a few libs but I believe even the latest version of the MMU library has provisions for such CPUs.

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 867
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:57 am

Obviously LC will not have 100% support, but cpu is like 10 times cheaper.
I can't think of software which is worth spending additional 200 or £300. If I had to run something like this I can always emulate it on my PC (?).

Edit: That was quick... I am in confirmation bias zone already :D
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

chucky
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by chucky » Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:32 pm

there is a 68LC060 lib that uses the math libs.. emulating FPU instructions..

so with that you can use a LC cpu like as if it is a RC.. but just somewhat slower.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3683
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:09 pm

chucky wrote:
Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:32 pm
there is a 68LC060 lib that uses the math libs.. emulating FPU instructions..

so with that you can use a LC cpu like as if it is a RC.. but just somewhat slower.
This is the speed geek library?

www.amibay.com/showthread.php?110823-68 ... ary-update
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

chucky
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by chucky » Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:32 pm


YUP!..

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 867
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:35 pm

So bought one as they are still affordable. Who knows what will happen to prices. Better to have one in drawer just in case.
Attachments
20200818_204341.jpg
20200818_204341.jpg (272.95 KiB) Viewed 854 times
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

chucky
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by chucky » Wed Aug 19, 2020 8:32 am

damn seems that I have misinterpreted stuff. as as when I test now. the 68LC060 lib seems NOT to emulate fpu.
people told me they could run demos on it.. I an totally unable to do that


then I see no point of the LC060 lib... hmmm must investigate mroe

chucky
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by chucky » Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:55 pm

ok the 68LC060 lib did not emulate FPU..

I have experimented with the FEMU that vampirepeople used.. it emulates a fpu. it "kinda works" but is EXTREMLY slow..

so LC.. yeah itwill work. but many programs does default to FPU aswell. soo.. yeah do not use 060 compiled code with a LC060..

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3683
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: 68060 dilemma

Post by terriblefire » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:16 am

chucky wrote:
Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:55 pm
ok the 68LC060 lib did not emulate FPU..

I have experimented with the FEMU that vampirepeople used.. it emulates a fpu. it "kinda works" but is EXTREMLY slow..

so LC.. yeah itwill work. but many programs does default to FPU aswell. soo.. yeah do not use 060 compiled code with a LC060..
I think the issue is the FPU emulation is probably too exact... precision could be lost for many applications and the output would not matter much.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

Post Reply

Return to “CHAT FORUM”