USB Audio Interface

Atari talk, or the life and the universe and things. Just keep it clean!
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin

USB Audio Interface

Post by IngoQ » Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:29 am

Hi,

I am looking for a decent USB audio interface for capturing audio from retro audio components and computers. Since I want to do quality comparisons and -measurements, it needs to be decent quality. Since i am not a musician, XLR mic inputs and instrument inputs are not needed. Although the would do no harm, of course :)

There are of course a lot of them available, but I want something that has at least one output and one input of line-level stereo. Most interfaces that I have found have separate mono inputs, where you have to match gain levels manually. I already have a Behringer UCA222, but the quality sucks, so I need something better.

Andy ideas or recommendations?
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: USB Audio Interface

Post by IngoQ » Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:25 pm

... found this one: https://www.tascam.eu/de/us-1x2.html Anybody know it?

Seems to be having 2xCinch inputs and 2x Cinch outputs on the rear.

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by rpineau » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:54 pm

Tascam is an excellent brand with high quality product and the US-1x2 is definitely going to beat your UCA222.
As your goal is high quality measurement and comparison, the fact that the US-1x2 can do 24 bit at 96KHz is definitely a plus.
I've seen Tascam equipment used in a lot of professional studio, not so much Behringer in studios ;)
Rodolphe
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin