Hi from Holland

New user? Tell us about yourself!
sandord

Hi from Holland

Post by sandord »

After discovering this forum and posting to it over a period of a few weeks, I finally discovered this topic :P

So, I'm Sandor Drieënhuizen, I'm 42 and I used to have an ST (and a Falcon after that) when I was a kid. My dad got me one when I was 11 because I already had a synthesizer with MIDI capabilities and he figured a computer running a MIDI sequencer would be a nice addition to it.

I already loved to write code, which I had been doing since 9 on my dad's Sharp MZ-800. So besides the MIDI stuff (which I liked a lot), I started coding in GFA Basic () and learned 68k assembly a few years later.

I used to be part of a two-person demo crew called Dawn Multimedia (I used the handles Fix, Vulture and finally Zeme), together with my best friend (Roberto De Vivo a.k.a. ManTra) who was/is a graphics artist. Both of us composed chip tunes and mods.

We did some intros but we never got to officially release our own mega demo. But at 16, we were asked to do guest screen for the Synergy Megademo. So we did and we called it Symbiosis. You can watch it here if you like:

Note that the music for the screen was done by Scavenger from Synergy (Joris de Man, he's a composer for a some renown game shops these days (he did the music for Killzone from Guerilla Games for example).

When I was around 17, I got a Falcon (after working a long summer). I was very excited about it but as you probably know, not much software as written that actually took advantage of the new features and PCs were getting more and more advanced. So, after 1.5 year or so I sold the Falcon and got myself a PC.

Many dark years followed until I bought myself an ST again :D That happened this year actually, 2018.