Greetings from colorful Colorado USA

New user? Tell us about yourself!
wwinfrey

Greetings from colorful Colorado USA

Post by wwinfrey »

Greets to my favorite Atari forum on the web! I'm fairly new to the Atari scene. I have only used emulators but am getting ready to purchase my first, a Mega STE. My primary interest is in MIDI sequencing.

I am in negotiation to purchase a well-cared-after machine from Slovakia, shipping to here in the US via UPS, and I am wondering if anyone who has purchased a machine from overseas can provide me with the DOs and DO NOTs to ensure that my new baby arrives without issue (and Exxos, if I am posting in the wrong forum for this, feel free to redirect me).
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Greetings from colorful Colorado USA

Post by exxos »

:welcomewave:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Tomswork

Post by Tomswork »

rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Having just received a MegaSTE myself in excellent condition, albeit from inside the same country, I can say that it really needs to have the main unit and kbd wrapped spearately in lots of padding (Mine came in a ton of bubble wrap) and in a box within a box, also bubble wrapped, that gives loads of room around the outside so that the corners cannot shift and get crunched along the way.

As it's coming a long way, it really does need those layers of padding and cardboard so that it can't move around.

If it's well cared for, hopefully the seller will want to ensure that it arrives safely.
Collector of many retro things!