New Member with a Graphics Problem

New user? Tell us about yourself!
Jbbnbsmith

New Member with a Graphics Problem

Post by Jbbnbsmith »

Hi everyone. I've been using my Atari STf 1040 (upgraded to 2 MB) since about 1986. Last summer when I tried to turn it on I experienced a graphics/video issue.

When I first power up all I see is the top menu bar text repeated on the screen.

After about 20 minutes the screen starts flickering and you can see the green background and the folder icons, but they are scrambled.

After an hour or so the screen settles down and looks almost normal except that sections of rows are shifted.

(I'll post a pic when I make the image smaller)

I did some research and most things I read suggested it was the power supply. Although it looked like I was getting proper voltage, I just put a new Mean Well RD35a in my machine, and I am getting a very consistent 5.16 V (and 12 V).

However, I am still getting the exact same issue. Everything is completely reproducible including the times.

I've tried pulling and replacing all the chips but that did not change anything.

I'm going to try a more detailed cleaning of the MMU and GLUE chips (I found a link for that here), but given the transient nature of the problem I am wondering if it could be a capacitor on the motherboard.

I know a bit about circuits and have some crude soldering skills but I'm at a loss as to what may be the issue. Is it worth replacing some capacitors or do you think it is more likely something else.

By the way, I did try searching the forums but I must have been doing it wrong because I kept getting zero results. So if this topic has been covered pleased post the link.

Thanks in advance for the help! I'd really like to get this old machine running again.
PhilC

Re: New Member with a Graphics Problem

Post by PhilC »

@Jbbnbsmith try and post a photo of each change of phase but to me it sounds capacitor related

Btw the forum will resize the image automatically.