Hello from Canberra

New user? Tell us about yourself!
Smonson

Hello from Canberra

Post by Smonson »

Hello, I should have done one of these earlier, I've already been posting quite a bit.

I'm a 39-year-old web developer in Canberra, Australia (...another aussie). When I was a kid, my dad got us an STFM - it was my first experience of a 16-bit era computer. I think that was in 1989. At age 12 I ended up in hospital in traction for several weeks unable to move. My parents were kind enough to buy an STE and placed that in my hospital room for me to play games, which I did for about 17 hours a day.

A long time ago (~2002) I was a firmware developer for a company that made passport scanners. After that, back-end applications programming in C. And now I'm a web developer. A couple of years ago I bought a broken STFM on ebay and got it in the mail from Bulgaria, and fixed it. I still own one original game: The Secret of Monkey Island.

I have been working on writing GEM programs in C++ using stock GCC (I have a moral objection to using the patched compiler that everyone else uses); and also HDMI video output for STFM.
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Hello from Canberra

Post by exxos »

:welcomewave:

Same age as me ;)
What gem programs are those then ? I don't use c, but what's the issue with the patched compiler ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Atarian Computing

Post by Atarian Computing »

Another 39-year-old chiming in.
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by exxos »

Atarian Computing wrote: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:53 am Another 39-year-old chiming in.