Newbe

New user? Tell us about yourself!
gazak28

Newbe

Post by gazak28 »

Hi everyone thanks for allowing me to join the group and get to know people.
Yes, I am another from down under. I am not an expert, just a person who has been in and out of the Atari scene since the early nineties when I was based in New Zealand.
Have bought and sold a few Ataris over the last couple of years. But I have settled on the Falcon(2) and STE's(4) but have just listed two STE's on Ebay to share the love around.(For Atari's lol)
I like many of you have bought stuff off Chris(Exxos) to hopefully keep our machines operating.
I am on here to get some advice.
I recently installed an Exxos NVRAM into one of my Falcons and am having some troubles. I am lucky enough to be involved in a small Atari club and Paul one of the members was able to check my soldering, and tested every solder joint with a multi meter. Checking them against Exxos diagrams.
Every time I go through the process of reseting the NVRAM it all seems to go well.
When I switch the machine of to see if the time holds it will not start. I have to take the battery out, unplug the power supply and wait for about 5 minutes. Switch it on without the battery it works. Put the battery in and it is like Ground Hog Day all over again. The battery has been tested too.
Please if someone has had similar problems I would like to hear. I am waiting on some capacitors to try the trick that Exxos has suggested.
Cheers
Gary
Bikerbob

Re: Newbe

Post by Bikerbob »

Good luck Gary, I think I know the Paul you are talking about about. I chat with him on the facebook groups. I have never gotten into the falcon myself, I have 2 megaSTEs and have been bringing them back up to snuff with lots of trials and tribulations.. This forum is very good, if for no other reason its like a personal helpline to Chris, that others see and can also input on.. lol