Greetings from Germany

New user? Tell us about yourself!
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin

Greetings from Germany

Post by IngoQ »

Hiya :)

My Inbox told me, that finally exxos gave in and opened up his own forum, so here I am :)

I really like the motto, keeping things positive. My expectations here would be a place to exchange ideas instead of arguing about them, making suggestions instead of telling others what to do, and in general trying to not be an asshole ;) I want to enjoy my hobby, share knowledge and try to have a good time doing so :)

I have a small computer collection, consisting of a C64, Atari 800XL, Texas Instruments TI99/4A, Amiga 1200 and of course one Atari 1040STE. My focus in general is on Homecomputers and their use cases, I'm not much of a gamer, although I enjoy my side scrolling shooter like the next guy ;) But I am not interested in consoles, although the line sometimes tend to blur ;)

Although I work in IT Management now, my background is electronics. I used to repair copiers, faxes and printers. I'm quite proficient on fixing things, but I never designed my own circuits. I have some programming experience on the X86-platform and modern scripting languages, like PERL, PHP, VB(A) as well as SQL. I know my way around Linux and Windows and use them on a daily basis.

Currently I am head of IT in the Studentenwerk OstNiedersachsen, which supplies services for students (dormitories, student cafeterias, financial aid, etc.) in conjunction with universities. At work my focus is on networking, i.e. layer 2 and 3 infrastructures for students and colleagues as well. In addition I do software development for internal applications and lots of project management :)