Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Upgrade your RAM from ST to Falcon.
kmcrainey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:15 pm

Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by kmcrainey » Tue May 04, 2021 5:05 pm

Hello,

I have attempted this 4MB RAM upgrade, but when I turn the unit on, I am not getting a boot up sequence. The system produces a black screen through the video port. The gotek is getting power and the power light is lit. Listening to the device, I don't hear the normal "bzz" noises that periodically play, when the system is booting up. I assume the RAM is not working, now that I used this upgrade. Can anyone please help me diagnose the problem? I have attached some pictures. Any suggestions on what to try would be greatly appreciated.


Regards,
Malcolm

PXL_20210504_155048972.jpg
PXL_20210504_155048972.jpg (310.98 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210504_155036066.jpg
PXL_20210504_155036066.jpg (320.57 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210504_155022075.jpg
PXL_20210504_155022075.jpg (205.86 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210504_155014900.jpg
PXL_20210504_155014900.jpg (330.72 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210503_201749442.MP.jpg
PXL_20210503_201749442.MP.jpg (328.03 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210503_201735615.jpg
PXL_20210503_201735615.jpg (457.31 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210503_193212135.jpg
PXL_20210503_193212135.jpg (167.3 KiB) Viewed 378 times
PXL_20210503_193207164.jpg
PXL_20210503_193207164.jpg (450.08 KiB) Viewed 378 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14825
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by exxos » Tue May 04, 2021 5:52 pm

Have a look though these threads..

viewforum.php?f=15

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3959

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3216

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3217


You likely have a bad connection somewhere or a bad solder joint it's always the case.

It also looks like the RAM board is not correctly inserted into the socket fully...
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
DoG
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by DoG » Tue May 04, 2021 6:42 pm

It doesn't look like the mmu adapter and the shifter is fully inserted. Could be the angle of the photo maybe.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3672
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue May 04, 2021 7:45 pm

When you have a border with black screen it generally speaking means no memory.

The MMU adapter looks correctly aligned with pin 1 in the correct location, however it is not inserted nearly far enough. You should have only about 1mm of the pins visible when properly inserted.

I'd suggest that you completely remove the mainboard and place it on a piece of cardboard on a flat level surface before trying to push in the MMU adapter to ensure that you can use enough force, applied evenly, to ensure the adapter pushes in far enough.

Leaving it in the case allows the board to flex, which can also cause hidden damage, and prevents even insertion. I've had boards break just by pushing something into a socket.

As for the Shifter adapter, I don't think that is fully in either as it looks a bit high to me. It should be easier to insert than the MMU adapter but I still advise doing it with the board outside the case on a flat surface supported by cardboard.

Double check the Shifter orientation to make sure that pin 1 of the adapter and chip are in the right place.

After inserting the adapters, I'd suggest you check on the bottom of the board for any pins that may have bent over and are shorting. Atari often left component leads long enough for this to happen.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

kmcrainey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:15 pm

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by kmcrainey » Wed May 05, 2021 8:24 pm

I tried my best to press down more like you recommended. I think I made some leeway, but the same result is occurring. I don't see any obvious damage on the bottom of the board. I did put some solder in one pin whole that didn't seem to have solder in it.

Maybe this is a dumb question but I don't have to mount the PSU with any screws or plug in the keyboard for the boot sequence to start normally, do I?

Please see attached photos.

PXL_20210505_191220670.jpg
PXL_20210505_191220670.jpg (193.77 KiB) Viewed 293 times
PXL_20210505_191156315.jpg
PXL_20210505_191156315.jpg (317.79 KiB) Viewed 293 times
PXL_20210505_191145532.jpg
PXL_20210505_191145532.jpg (303.8 KiB) Viewed 293 times

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3672
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed May 05, 2021 8:52 pm

kmcrainey wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 8:24 pm
I tried my best to press down more like you recommended. I think I made some leeway, but the same result is occurring. I don't see any obvious damage on the bottom of the board. I did put some solder in one pin whole that didn't seem to have solder in it.

Maybe this is a dumb question but I don't have to mount the PSU with any screws or plug in the keyboard for the boot sequence to start normally, do I?
No, It'll boot just fine with the PSU sitting in place on the mobo, no screws, and the keyboard isn't necessary for boot.

What hole (Via) are you referring to that had no solder? Really you shouldn't solder anything unless you know what it does, and the ST does have a lot of unsoldered vias.

BTW, the 4th pin up on the left of your shifter looks bent and the shifter adapter doesn't look evenly plugged in, it's higher on the right hand side in your pictures.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

friijy2001
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by friijy2001 » Thu May 06, 2021 6:51 am

Hi,

I had a similar issue and it was just down to checking to make sure things were seated correctly.

As another test make sure all tracks and cables go somewhere, the cable should connect to a pin on the shifter, this can be done with a simple circuit tester if you have one.

The other thing I have found if you have removed things from the main board is it is really easy to break a track...on the underside of the board where the shifter sits make sure each track has a connection. (not all go to places but they should at least go to another place on the board.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3672
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu May 06, 2021 9:07 am

friijy2001 wrote:
Thu May 06, 2021 6:51 am
The other thing I have found if you have removed things from the main board is it is really easy to break a track...on the underside of the board where the shifter sits make sure each track has a connection. (not all go to places but they should at least go to another place on the board.
I'll certainly second that about breaking tracks. I plugged an IDE adapter into my Mega 4s Megabus adapter and it broke 2 data data lines coming out of the CPU. Easily fixed, but bloody annoying!!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

kmcrainey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:15 pm

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by kmcrainey » Sun May 09, 2021 8:18 pm

I did try and and perform continuity tests the shifter board and shifter IC. There were no issues. I also did a continuity test with the ribbon cable plugged into the shifter board and the there was no issue.

As for the hole I soldered, I don't remember which one it was. I will refrain from doing such an action again. What are the chances that this one time will cause an issue? Should I take a guess on it and remove the solder?

As for the underside of the board, I do have some scratches. Would this cause a problem? What can I do to correct this?

PXL_20210509_182001589.jpg
PXL_20210509_182001589.jpg (262.32 KiB) Viewed 157 times
PXL_20210509_181539933.jpg
PXL_20210509_181539933.jpg (177.25 KiB) Viewed 157 times

Regard,
Malcolm

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2875
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 4MB RAM upgrade problems

Post by Icky » Sun May 09, 2021 8:40 pm

@kmcrainey, please can you place your photos in-line when posting it makes the flow better and you can place them around your explanations. Examples here - viewtopic.php?f=20&t=2357

I have fixed them in this post already.

Post Reply

Return to “RAM UPGRADES”