STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Upgrade or replace the ROM.
Post Reply
derkom
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by derkom » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:47 pm

I just installed the dual TOS upgrade in one of the STe boards I am working on and I've run into a strange problem: TOS 1.62 boots perfectly fine, but TOS 2.06 gives four bombs after the memory test. Diagnostic software shows CRC good for TOS 1.62 and CRC bad for TOS 2.06. I have verified with the schematic that every solder is good. All three jumpers are set 2-3. I've inspected and cleaned the socket and ROM. Is there anything that could cause this aside from a corrupt ROM?
Attachments
IMG_20190917_163413.jpg
IMG_20190917_163413.jpg (24.08 KiB) Viewed 146 times
IMG_20190917_163811.jpg
IMG_20190917_163811.jpg (44.34 KiB) Viewed 146 times
IMG_20190917_163906.jpg
IMG_20190917_163906.jpg (46.05 KiB) Viewed 146 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7832
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:51 pm

That normally happens when the floppy drive isn't connected.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

derkom
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by derkom » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:54 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:51 pm
That normally happens when the floppy drive isn't connected.
Hahah, okay. It's not. :lol:

Edit: Yup, that was it. Boots fine now. Diag check still fails though. I won't worry about it. :mrgreen:
Attachments
Wire 2019-09-17 at 6_59 PM.jpeg
Wire 2019-09-17 at 6_59 PM.jpeg (13.47 KiB) Viewed 135 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7832
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:02 pm

derkom wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:54 pm
Hahah, okay. It's not. :lol:

Edit: Yup, that was it. Boots fine now. Diag check still fails though. I won't worry about it. :mrgreen:
:lolbig: :bravo:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

czietz
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by czietz » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:16 pm

derkom wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:54 pm
Diag check still fails though. I won't worry about it.
Afaik, the STE diagnostic simply does not know TOS 2.06. (It even says so on the screen: "New version number.") Therefore, it doesn't know which ROM checksum to expect, either, and fails. However, TOS 2.06 has a built-in checksum test at boot. As long as you don't see any error messages there, the ROMs are fine.

derkom
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: STe dual TOS upgrade - 1.62 works fine, 2.06 does not

Post by derkom » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:23 pm

czietz wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:16 pm
Afaik, the STE diagnostic simply does not know TOS 2.06. (It even says so on the screen: "New version number.")
Yeah, that's kind of what I was suspecting, given the "new version number" text. With the floppy reconnected, it all seems good now. Time to reassemble. :D

Thanks exxos and czietz. :geek:

Post Reply

Return to “ROM UPGRADES”