Maximum 520STfm TOS version Etc

Upgrade or replace the ROM.
AtariFox

Maximum 520STfm TOS version Etc

Post by AtariFox »

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

I'm new to the ATari ST systems, I just bought a 520 STFM with sm124 monochrome monitor, (the monitor has screen burn in, and i have no idea if there's an ST program that could run to try and remove it, like those you can with TV static on LCD's), and mouse. IT was used its entire life as a music machine, and has the 1990 dated Frontier Xtra-ram deluxe 4mb upgrade installed as shown in Exxo's manual scan.

It currently has TOS 1.02 on it, atleast from what i can identify, it only has the 1987, 88 on the GEM interface.

I've looked through the store and google itself but I only get mentions of STE series. Not the STFM series. And i do not know what version of ToS it's upgradable to. I think 1.62? I'm not an amazing soldering expert.

If there's any other upgrades for the system that I can do, I'd be grateful to know. It has also been UK PAT Passed.

It currently has a Mitsumi Elec PSU in it The big black capacitor with the big red warning on it is curved at the top, i dunno if that's by design, but there's no stress or bulge looking damage (include a picture).. A 720K DS-DD drive.

I thought about recapping the PSU, but I' don't wanna touch that big one.
Attachments
IMG_20190806_221854s.png
IMG_20190806_221854s.png (1.08 MiB) Viewed 5984 times
IMG_20190806_221803.jpg
IMG_20190806_221803.jpg (78.77 KiB) Viewed 5984 times
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Maximum 520STfm TOS version Etc

Post by exxos »

STFM can have up to TOS104 without a lot of work. I don't really recommend installing anything higher than 104 in a STFM anyway.

STE are generally shipped with 1.06,1.62. Most fit dualtos so they can use 1.62 and 206.

As for caps, I do list re-cap kits in my store for the SR98.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS