Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Upgrade or replace the ROM.
Post Reply
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:43 pm

Since this just happened to me, and also someone else on the Facebook Pages, I thought I'd do a quick fix guide for if you've broken a pin off your ROMs, or indeed any other chip.

In my case, it was the fact I had to remove a dual ROM setup, where the pins had been bent up, so they were not plugged in, and soldered to a switch.

Both ROM sets were like this, however one was recoverable, the other lost one pin off each of the HI and Low ROMs as below:
owie.jpg
owie.jpg (370.58 KiB) Viewed 459 times

It isn't the end of the road, and is actually something you can recover from, even if it's multiple pins you're missing. You will need to solder here, or find someone who can.

The first stage is to tin the remaining portion of the leg of the pin, making it ready to accept its new pin. Just get a small blog of solder on the leg:
tinned.jpg
tinned.jpg (276.37 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Next, pop the ROM into it's socket as though you were fitting it. Once fitted into the socket, find the leg you're repairing and using a small screwdriver, push it in slightly to make room for the wire:
ready_for_wire.jpg
ready_for_wire.jpg (377.01 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Next to the leg of the chip, insert a piece of wire. I used long header strip pin, but as long as it's reasonably rigid, it will be fine:
ready_to_solder.jpg
ready_to_solder.jpg (386.4 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Line the wire up with the centre of the leg, and solder it to the leg as below:
soldered_on_in_socket.jpg
soldered_on_in_socket.jpg (379.22 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Very carefully, so you dont break any more pins (!!!), remove the ROM from the socket, to reveal your new pin:
soldered_on.jpg
soldered_on.jpg (277.66 KiB) Viewed 459 times

Trim off the excess wire, and you're done. Carefully plug the ROM back into it's socket and you're ready to go.

I've used this method many times to recover damaged chips of all shapes and sizes, and it's certainly worth a stab, and will at least get you up and running until you can get a replacement, and will probably last the life of the chip.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4506
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by exxos » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:45 pm

:bravo: :goodpost:

Happens to me loads!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

tuxie
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by tuxie » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:43 am

I do it in a other way. I take a older other chip and cut the pin direktly on the case. Mostly its enough to move the pin up and down. Then i solder this pins on top of the broken one.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:44 am

tuxie wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:43 am
I do it in a other way. I take a older other chip and cut the pin direktly on the case. Mostly its enough to move the pin up and down. Then i solder this pins on top of the broken one.
Yeah, that's another good way to do it.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Stimpy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:19 pm

Re: Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by Stimpy » Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:24 pm

You wait until you have to fix an IC where the pin snaps off at the point it enters the plastic! :shock: :cry:

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Fixing broken pins on a ROM chip

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:05 pm

Stimpy wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:24 pm
You wait until you have to fix an IC where the pin snaps off at the point it enters the plastic! :shock: :cry:
I have used this method to fix these too :)

It takes a bit more effort, in that you have to cut away some of the chip body and reveal the pin before you can solder, but it is doable.

However I usually only use that method as a temporary fix, as it is a lot weaker.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Post Reply