Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

The latest tweaks and fixes to keep your machine running in tip-top shape.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2499
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:20 pm

@HigashiJun Great, let us know what the outcome is.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by HigashiJun » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:07 am

Ok, so I've managed to take the eyelet off and as expected there's no spark any more bouncing on the PCB. :D

(Thanks to your great help !)

However, the machine still doesn't boot.

Just to be sure, is the +5V pin working the same way as the +12v one (ie. +5v fed on one side) ? If so, I will then have to get rid of the eyelet in the through hole...

Cheers.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2499
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:53 am

No, the 5v is fed from the track you can see coming from the main power connector on the top of the board so leave that alone. It sounds like there's something else going on.

I've annotated your diagram to show the position of the feeds from the main PSU connector.

Red is 5v, the leftmost two pins. The PCB track is on top of the board. If you remove this via and there is a another connection on the bottom, you'll have problems. Even if there is no connection on the bottom, these are soldered from the bottom so removing the via means you won't be able to solder anything in.

Yellow is ground, 3 pins on the PSU connector, (GND) and it is a large plane, also on the top of the board. If you remove these vias and there is a another connection on the bottom, you'll have problems. Even if there is no connection on the bottom, these are soldered from the bottom so removing the via means you won't be able to solder anything in.

Blue is 12v, the single pin on the right hand side. It starts of on the top of the board and the PCB track goes to point A. It then goes down to the bottom of the board through a via, and then underneath to point B, where the via you removed was. Since the via at point B is gone, but the PCB track is still on the bottom, that's ok, you can still solder to the track.

Don't remove any of the other vias or you'll compromise the power connection.

3.jpeg
3.jpeg (179.38 KiB) Viewed 125 times
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by HigashiJun » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:08 am

Thank you for your confirmation rubber_jonnie, that's what I wanted to hear.

I will have to check further if time allows...

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2499
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:24 am

HigashiJun wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:08 am
Thank you for your confirmation rubber_jonnie, that's what I wanted to hear.

I will have to check further if time allows...
You may want to go bck to my last post, as I've updated it slightly.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

tzok
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by tzok » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:33 am

STe should boot just fine without 12V. STe floppies used in STes don't use it, and even if you'd cut it completely off from the PSU, just the composite video/TV out would be non-functional.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2499
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:46 am

tzok wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:33 am
STe should boot just fine without 12V. STe floppies used in STes don't use it, and even if you'd cut it completely off from the PSU, just the composite video/TV out would be non-functional.
Quite right, there ins't much that needs 12v, and 12v is definitely not required to boot. When I was first getting my 520ST going and had no external PSU, I just hooked everything up to 5v and had no problems.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10882
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by exxos » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:48 am

tzok wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:33 am
STe should boot just fine without 12V. STe floppies used in STes don't use it, and even if you'd cut it completely off from the PSU, just the composite video/TV out would be non-functional.
Part of the STe audio circuit uses 12V as well.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by HigashiJun » Sat Jun 20, 2020 11:19 am

Thank you all for this precious information !

I didn't know the +12v is used in the Atari STE. I thought it was just a remaining from old times for power hungry FDD drives.

I made some connection tests with my multimeter and everything seems alright, so there must be something else I missed somewhere.

Just my own opinion, but this power connector is quite "special". I have repaired many Orics, Amstrads and Amigas MB and I never had such weird issues...

tzok
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Atari STE - Issues with power connector (J302)

Post by tzok » Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:39 pm

Yet, computer should boot just fine, without it.

Post Reply

Return to “TWEAKS & FIXES”