Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
Post Reply
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2370
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:36 pm

Well, it looks like I'll soon be the proud owner of a Mega ST4.

As with anything, it needs a little TLC, maybe some new bits, but looking forwards to getting my hands on it and tinkering.

There is no KB, but I think I should be able to get round that, and I may be able to get one of the IDE boards I have spare fitted and expand that way.

If anybody has any suggestions about add ins that work with the bus expansion slot, I'd be interested to hear.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by PaulJ » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:28 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:36 pm
Well, it looks like I'll soon be the proud owner of a Mega ST4.

As with anything, it needs a little TLC, maybe some new bits, but looking forwards to getting my hands on it and tinkering.

There is no KB, but I think I should be able to get round that, and I may be able to get one of the IDE boards I have spare fitted and expand that way.

If anybody has any suggestions about add ins that work with the bus expansion slot, I'd be interested to hear.
Jon, saw your exchange on facebook. What condition is the mega4 in? Sounded like it may have had a hard life. I have two mega4's that both came without keyboards and purchasing a keyboard by its self is ridiculous. The Eiffel works good if you don't consider the pic's getting erased by happenstance. I guess as long as you keep spare pics on hand you're golden. Good luck with it. :) :) :)

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1273
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by PaulJ » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:40 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:36 pm
Well, it looks like I'll soon be the proud owner of a Mega ST4.

As with anything, it needs a little TLC, maybe some new bits, but looking forwards to getting my hands on it and tinkering.

There is no KB, but I think I should be able to get round that, and I may be able to get one of the IDE boards I have spare fitted and expand that way.

If anybody has any suggestions about add ins that work with the bus expansion slot, I'd be interested to hear.
I've been thing about the expansion slot for a long time. The video card with the ecl output sounds like more trouble that its worth, also believe there is a 68881/2 card that plugs in but its kind of a wasted effort in my opinion since very few app's use it. What I have been thinking is a board that expands memory. Six mb of static expanded memory would be nice. :)

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2912
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by PhilC » Mon Sep 23, 2019 4:01 pm

I started on a Megabus to 68000 socket adaptor to put some of the STFM upgrades into it without excessive stacking.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

DoG
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by DoG » Mon Sep 23, 2019 4:31 pm

I got one of those FPU cards for the Mega bus. It's huge.

Also got a IDE card for the Mega bus. Can't remember where I bought it from.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON
Contact:

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by Bikerbob » Mon Sep 23, 2019 5:30 pm

I have the Viking Card.. but I took it out and dont think I will be putting it back in.

Is the one you got a real MEga4? or a Mega2 with the 2mb additional populated? I know all about the dogs breakfast machines.. I have had a few. My mega (knock on wood) seems to be working fine. little bummed I got a 360k drive in it.. not even a 720k. Love there are a bunch of us.. making getting opinions easy.. ;)

James

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2912
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by PhilC » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:07 pm

You've got some catching up to do RJ, I've got 3 working ones here, all boosted :P
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2370
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:46 pm

It's a Mega ST4 AFIK, but the seller suggests it doesn't work with a blitter installed, but TBH I don't care as it will be a Cubase machine, and it does work without. The case badge is definitely a Mega ST4.

How I wish I'd held on to my Mega ST2 all those years ago!!

The case has sadly been cut, looks like to allow removal of the big button floppy and to fit a normal one, but again, I'm not too worried as I will most likely Gotek it anyway. I will have a look at the possibility of 3d printing something to go in the case over the chopped slot to tidy it up and make use one of the 3d Printed Gotek mounts I have to make it look nice.

It does look like it's had a hard time, but I had to go for it (Like I need ANOTHER project). Still, Winter is coming and I always get more soldering done then.

As for IDE, I have a second beta IDE board which should work nicely with a bit of fettling, and it isn't too huge. I could also try dropping my PAK 68/2 in it, see what turns up :) That has a 68882 in it and TOS 2.06, so would be interesting to try.

As for KB, well I may try Eiffel, I'm not decided yet, but will keep some PICs spare to be sure!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2370
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:47 pm

PhilC wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:07 pm
You've got some catching up to do RJ, I've got 3 working ones here, all boosted :P
Damn.... three!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 486
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Looks like I'll be getting a Mega ST4 soon

Post by JezC » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:16 pm

I really like my Mega 4 (it has the original keyboard but a couple of the buttons are broken) but haven't yet had time to sort out upgrading the 2x ROM TOS1.02 to a switchable TOS 1.02/1.04 setup.

I've got the board from Exxos for this but have not yet had time to build it (see my other post about the new kitten for part of the explanation) let alone program up a ROM (still waiting on the arrival of the PLCC 44 pin adaptor for the programmer).

The Megafile 60 which came with it is nice (but very noisy)...along with the Midex+, Cubase 3 dongle, Avalon & Synthworks DX-7 & M1...

Sadly the SM124 worked when I first tested it but has refused to turn on since...it's on the 'to be fixed' list but as I ahve a few other working mono displays, it's nowhere near the top...

Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”