RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
Post Reply
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:19 pm

I'm lucky enough to have 3 Megas, a Mega 1 that was in great condition and required little in the way of repairs, other than some minor tinkering, such as a Megabus IDE adapter and hard drive.

Then the was the Mega 4. Boy was that an adventure, what with missing chips, frayed wires, bad floppy plugs etc, it was a labour of love to get it up to speed, but it's now my best Mega, with a V1.1c IDE board, CF drive, Emutos 1.0 and TOS on board, it's a great machine.

So now onto number 3, a Mega 1 with a strange 4MB ram expansion. Initial checks are good, in that there's nothing major missing, but running the diag cart threw up some RAM errors in Bank 0 that need addressing.

RAM_Test.jpg
RAM_Test.jpg (98.64 KiB) Viewed 286 times

Oh dear, accidental bad memory joke there...

Working through the diag cart tests I could do (I don't yet have any loopback cables, but they are on order), the next problem was a non working floppy. I checked the FDD power and that was fine, but the data cable looked a little ropey, so I switched that out for a socket and new cable, but still no joy.

I started out testing the signals from the WD1772 as suggested by the attached service manual, and started off soldering test wires to the FDD to confirm what I saw at the WD1772 was arriving at the FDD itself:

Testing_1.jpg
Testing_1.jpg (142.44 KiB) Viewed 286 times

You can see a nice view of the 'scope showing one of the signals, and how the signal is inverted prior to arriving at the FDD. The scaling of channel 1 (Yellow trace) is a bit off, but it does at least show the inversion. I quickly realised I needed a better way than cables soldered to the FDD though, so fitted a 3rd plug to the cable, and used pin headers to break out the signals, as you can see below:

Testing_2.jpg
Testing_2.jpg (143.78 KiB) Viewed 286 times

As you can see, my workbench is really not very big, so things can be a bit of a faff, especially with a large machine like a Mega, a scope, solder/rework station and display!

What is handy though, is having a decent workbench PC that I can use to view the schematics and service manual while I work, and search the internet too.

Unfortunately, the FDD still isn't working after working on it most of the day, but I did get this far:

1. The signals that need to get to the FDD do get there, and are all correctly inverted where necessary.
2. The WD1772 does seem to be getting interrupts, though I want to check this again on my other Mega, make sure it looks right.
3. C/S and R/W signals to the WD1772 look fine, and A0/1 seems to be fine too.
4. Oddly, the FDD, which is known working, seems to be seen as an SS drive, not DS in the diag cart. This may be a clue as the same drive shows up as DS in my good Mega.
5. The busy light comes on and the motor starts, but then testing fails.
6. The line DAL0-DAL7 seems to have very low levels compared to a working machine. I think the resistor packs are going to get replaced next, and mandatory fixes done.
7. The write protect signalling works :)

So that's where I'm at, I'll keep you all posted on progress and (Hopefully) what the final fix is for the FDD and RAM problems.
Attachments
Mega_ST2-4_Schematic_2-19-1987.pdf
(1.69 MiB) Downloaded 5 times
MegaST_Service_Manual.pdf
(4.36 MiB) Downloaded 5 times
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

sporniket
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 9:12 pm
Location: France
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiQFiA ... MTPAh7ZTAw
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by sporniket » Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:37 pm

Cool pictures, all this work, it's impressive for the newbie that I am.
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:19 pm

As you can see, my workbench is really not very big, so things can be a bit of a faff, especially with a large machine like a Mega, a scope, solder/rework station and display!
Still bigger and more permanent than mine. The soldering station looks huge too ! I had looked about it, fancying to get one, but seeing it in situ, I guess it will require a bigger house first.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:31 pm

sporniket wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:37 pm
Cool pictures, all this work, it's impressive for the newbie that I am.
rubber_jonnie wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:19 pm

As you can see, my workbench is really not very big, so things can be a bit of a faff, especially with a large machine like a Mega, a scope, solder/rework station and display!
Still bigger and more permanent than mine. The soldering station looks huge too ! I had looked about it, fancying to get one, but seeing it in situ, I guess it will require a bigger house first.
As the solder station also does hot air, it's doubly useful, I certainly couldn't have both on there and have space to work. In fact my desolder station is actually behind me to the left as it's too big. I'm hoping to have something a bit more expansive when we move. With the slope of the roof it is more cramped then it looks, hence the mic boom for the microscope, I can swing it in and out as needed.

I do enjoy the troubleshooting stuff, and am getting more patient and procedural about things, fingers crossed I'll get there with this one too :)
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:12 pm

Mandatory fix no 1 applied:

Mandatory_1.jpg
Mandatory_1.jpg (99.81 KiB) Viewed 196 times

Leading to a much improved signal on DAL0-7:

Better_Signal.jpg
Better_Signal.jpg (83.83 KiB) Viewed 196 times

Prior to this I was seeing under 2.5v on these lines, now it looks like a proper TTL signal.

Sadly, it hasn't fixed anything, however I can at least rule that out. Checking on my Mega 4 it looks like that could do with the same fix applying, though the FDD does work on that.

Things seem to be working on the AY, with the necessary pins toggling for drive A/B selection, but I just need to check the 74LS02 at U21, make sure the output is correct and it's going to pin 17 of the 68901 correctly. Bit of an adventure!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

atari030
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by atari030 » Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:52 pm

Interesting, I'll be keeping an eye on this one. I haven't touched my Ooom kakala Mega till I can square some ST's away.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Nov 23, 2020 12:30 am

Well, first things first, I wish the symbols for NOR and NAND were not so similar, chasing down the ins and outs of U21 had me confused for a moment until I realised it was actually a NOR, and as a result I swapped out U21. No bad thing, but I can at least say it is good, and I can see the TTL logic happening as it should when the WD1772 sends out an interrupt, and it definitely gets to the 68901.

Then the strange RAM expansion died on me.......

So I removed it leaving only the 1MB onboard and replaced all of the 33R resistors that were removed for the upgrade. Everything jumped back into life and the onboard 1MB tested flawlessly. I have a Marpet style SIMM based RAM expander that was in my 520ST, and recently replaced with one of exxos' low profile units, much better suited to the confined space in the 520, so that will do nicely in this Mega eventually.

So, RAM is good for now.

Back to the FDD then.

All of the signals coming from the WD1772 seem to be good at the FDD and match the descriptions of operation in the datasheet. The drive light comes on, the head moves, track 0 is detected and the drive spins.

Data line DAL0-7 have pulses on them, and with the 10k pullups, the logic levels are fine. But still it doesn't work. I think I'll finish off the service manual troubleshooting, just to be 100% sure, and then I think I need to break out the logic analyser and compare whats happening on the data bus with my working machine.

Ho hum!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12603
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by exxos » Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:29 am

You may need to do the bus pull ups and others as well which can cause all sorts of odd things. I don't get why your having problems with the ram as it tested fine with the full 4MB before shipping.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:08 am

exxos wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:29 am
You may need to do the bus pull ups and others as well which can cause all sorts of odd things. I don't get why your having problems with the ram as it tested fine with the full 4MB before shipping.
@exxos I know, the RAM thing is odd as I know you tested it, unless my replacement chips were fake, which is a possibility. The board was been handled a lot over the weekend, which may also have had an effect given the fragility of this stuff these days, so I will probably revisit that later, I'm not decided yet, but for now I need it to work normally for the time being and 1MB will do whilst I'm working on the FDD problems. I'll get it back to 4MB by hook or by crook!

I have a ton of bus pull up SIPs as I want to do the whole fleet :), so they are on the cards next, just didn't get to it over the weekend, it's mad how much time gets absorbed when you're peering into a scope.

It was a revelation though just what a difference the 10K pullup made on DAL0-7, absolutely night and day!!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3009
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: RJs Adventures in Mega land III

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sun Nov 29, 2020 7:29 pm

Ok, so after a LOT of checking and re-checking of things, not to mention soldering pin headers onto my FDD to break out the signals, it looks like they are fine at the drive.

I kind of went over some old ground again, just with a bit more diligence, and what I see at the floppy drive matches the working one, but the data lines seem weird, so I checked those whilst running the disk exerciser from the diag cart.

They just don't seem quite right, so I did a comparison of the DMA CD0-CD7 lines with my working Mega, and I think the DMA may well be bad. The output is kind of weird in comparison.

Having changed the pull-ups and added the FDD data line pull up resistor pack, I know they are good, so next weekend, I think the DMA is getting pulled and swapped for a working one. It's pretty much all that's left, signals are all getting to the floppy, and everything that needs to be inverted along the way is. Interrupts seem good, as are the signals from the YM.

Fingers crossed that does the trick!
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”