Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by Steve » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:04 pm

After working on a Clab falcon recently I was envious of the internal scsi, so I spoke to a good man named Lynxman on atari-home.de and he kindly sent me a PCB he'd made with @tuxie . It works very well :)
PXL_20210221_151116609.jpg
PXL_20210221_151116609.jpg (575.32 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_153432816.jpg
PXL_20210221_153432816.jpg (434.6 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_155053378.jpg
PXL_20210221_155053378.jpg (433.39 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_161513434.jpg
PXL_20210221_161513434.jpg (442.83 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_161507702.jpg
PXL_20210221_161507702.jpg (436.78 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_172239786.jpg
PXL_20210221_172239786.jpg (402.63 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210221_182139827.jpg
PXL_20210221_182139827.jpg (545.01 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210222_191414376.MP.jpg
PXL_20210222_191414376.MP.jpg (336.8 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210222_192739308.jpg
PXL_20210222_192739308.jpg (499.89 KiB) Viewed 449 times
PXL_20210222_193711371.jpg
PXL_20210222_193711371.jpg (482.27 KiB) Viewed 449 times
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by Steve » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:17 pm

@czietz I was wondering (sorry for pinging you, you're the driver expert round here!) The scsi2sd v6 has an unpopulated USB header. Do you think this could be used for scsi > usb in an Atari, perhaps with modified CosmosEx drivers?
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

czietz
Posts: 391
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by czietz » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:36 pm

Sorry, I'm afraid you need to ask the SCSI2SD makers that question. I have no idea what that USB header is for.

stephen_usher
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by stephen_usher » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:57 pm

Steve wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:17 pm
@czietz I was wondering (sorry for pinging you, you're the driver expert round here!) The scsi2sd v6 has an unpopulated USB header. Do you think this could be used for scsi > usb in an Atari, perhaps with modified CosmosEx drivers?
Strange, mine doesn't, it has a micro-USB connector so you can configure the device though.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

tuxie
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by tuxie » Mon Feb 22, 2021 9:31 pm

I am glad that it is working , I never tested it before because I have no falcon hehe.

User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by Steve » Mon Feb 22, 2021 9:34 pm

stephen_usher wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:57 pm
Steve wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:17 pm
@czietz I was wondering (sorry for pinging you, you're the driver expert round here!) The scsi2sd v6 has an unpopulated USB header. Do you think this could be used for scsi > usb in an Atari, perhaps with modified CosmosEx drivers?
Strange, mine doesn't, it has a micro-USB connector so you can configure the device though.
Yours is a V6? I think there are three different revisions now.
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

stephen_usher
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by stephen_usher » Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:55 pm

Steve wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 9:34 pm
stephen_usher wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:57 pm


Strange, mine doesn't, it has a micro-USB connector so you can configure the device though.
Yours is a V6? I think there are three different revisions now.
Yep. I have some V5s (small), a couple of V5.1s and a V6.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

mikro
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by mikro » Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:34 am

@Steve by any chance you don't have a CosmosEx V3 to try in there? To me it looks like that there's no way it could fit but I may be wrong.

User avatar
derkom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 674
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by derkom » Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:27 am

Steve wrote:
Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:17 pm
@czietz I was wondering (sorry for pinging you, you're the driver expert round here!) The scsi2sd v6 has an unpopulated USB header. Do you think this could be used for scsi > usb in an Atari, perhaps with modified CosmosEx drivers?
The USB port on the SCSI2SDv6 is there to allow firmware updates and USB mass storage filesystem access via a connected modern computer, a task for which I've used it quite successfully with my TT in the past, incidentally, by sharing a small "staging" partition that both the Mac and the TT could see. It is connected directly to the STM32F205 and is not exposed in any way on the SCSI end of things.

Unlike the CosmosEx, which is running full Linux on a Raspberry Pi, the SCSI2SDv6 is running a very simple firmware on the STM CPU, which has only 1 MB flash and 128 kB RAM. While I don't know anything about the firmware (source is available though), I would be very surprised if it is possible within those confines to expose the USB port in any useful manner to the host ST.

User avatar
Steve
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Added internal SCSI port to my Falcon

Post by Steve » Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:38 am

mikro wrote:
Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:34 am
@Steve by any chance you don't have a CosmosEx V3 to try in there? To me it looks like that there's no way it could fit but I may be wrong.
I don't have one, I'm waiting for the v4 to come out now. It might mean cutting some plastic out from the bottom of the Cosmos case, or maybe fitting a right angle connector on the red scsi pcb, hopefully there will be a way.
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”