Archie A3000 inbound

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
alexh
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by alexh »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Tue Dec 05, 2023 10:59 am I am now wondering if the A5000 would take an internal ZIP Drive?
It is an ATAPI device not a ATA and so there would need to be ATAPI drivers for internal IDE controller. Maybe with Wizzo IDEFS ROM?
Principal ASIC Engineer - SystemVerilog, VHDL
Thalion Webshrine - http://thalion.atari.org
STf,STfm,STe,MegaST,MegaSTe,Falcon060
A500+,A600,A4000/060,CD32,CDTV
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

alexh wrote: Tue Dec 05, 2023 1:18 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote: Tue Dec 05, 2023 10:59 am I am now wondering if the A5000 would take an internal ZIP Drive?
It is an ATAPI device not a ATA and so there would need to be ATAPI drivers for internal IDE controller. Maybe with Wizzo IDEFS ROM?
Good point. I haven't played with the Wizzo ROM as yet.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Just received this little marvel:

Aleph1.JPG
Aleph1.JPG (308.72 KiB) Viewed 7571 times

Can't wait to fit it, but it will be for a bit later...
User avatar
alexh
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by alexh »

Is that a 25MHz ARM3 CPU upgrade?
Principal ASIC Engineer - SystemVerilog, VHDL
Thalion Webshrine - http://thalion.atari.org
STf,STfm,STe,MegaST,MegaSTe,Falcon060
A500+,A600,A4000/060,CD32,CDTV
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Yes, it is.

8-)
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Nice :)
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Thanks.

Was my last month's expensive gadget.

:lol:
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Just a quick update, but a nice one.

Had a day off today and was in the mood to fit the ARM3 upgrade in my A3000:

MEMC.JPG
MEMC.JPG (389.89 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

MEMC1 chip removed and solder pads cleaned.


MEMCsocket.JPG
MEMCsocket.JPG (408.56 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

Socket fitted.


ARM.JPG
ARM.JPG (348.46 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

ARM2 removed and solder pads cleaned.


ARMsocket.JPG
ARMsocket.JPG (472.24 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

Socket fitted.


ARM3.JPG
ARM3.JPG (498.24 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

ARM3 fitted and MEMC1 chip fitted back in its socket.


Test.JPG
Test.JPG (224.83 KiB) Viewed 7524 times

Good ! Nothing's broken and everything works.

What a difference in responsiveness... It's day and night.

:D
User avatar
alexh
Posts: 712
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by alexh »

Socketing the MEMC? Are you thinking 8MB RAM upgrade in the Future?
Principal ASIC Engineer - SystemVerilog, VHDL
Thalion Webshrine - http://thalion.atari.org
STf,STfm,STe,MegaST,MegaSTe,Falcon060
A500+,A600,A4000/060,CD32,CDTV
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

alexh wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 6:53 am Socketing the MEMC? Are you thinking 8MB RAM upgrade in the Future?
Yes, and maybe even more.

8-)
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”