Archie A3000 inbound

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Nice work :)
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

:cheers:
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Finally got my double podule set up working !

2podules.JPG
2podules.JPG (393.83 KiB) Viewed 9593 times

Itworks!.JPG
Itworks!.JPG (458.6 KiB) Viewed 9593 times

There was an intermittent bad contact on one pin, preventing the set up from working.

I will now have to fit my 2GB IDE Flash Memory, instead of the current CF card.

IDEflash.JPG
IDEflash.JPG (273.42 KiB) Viewed 9593 times

:D
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Interesting set of Apps you have there are you booting from disk now?

My NIC just shows up as a blank space in *podules as it doesn't have a rom :)
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

No, not yet.

I first want to finish a couple of things before booting from the HDD.

If I only could get my hands on a NIC with a RJ45...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:46 pm
If I only could get my hands on a NIC with a RJ45...
That might be tricky...

If you can't there are always MAU adapters for AUI out there.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

@rubber_jonnie

Yes, they are very very rare...

A MAU adapter would be a last chance alternative, but very grudgingly.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 1:11 pm @rubber_jonnie

Yes, they are very very rare...

A MAU adapter would be a last chance alternative, but very grudgingly.
I did originally order a card for mine that had a normal connection, but then CJE came back to me and said we've sold out, hence why I ended up with the MAU hanging off the back. It was tough making it work, but worth it for sure.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

I have finally bought a network adapter for the A3000:

Net.png
Net.png (2.25 MiB) Viewed 8354 times

This one has a BNC connector, but as I mentioned it in a previous post, it's still better than nothing.

Just hope to get it soon so I can start thinking how the heck I will fit it internally in my Archie (I have already a vague idea though). :lol:
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10635
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Fri Dec 22, 2023 9:51 am I have finally bought a network adapter for the A3000:


Net.png


This one has a BNC connector, but as I mentioned it in a previous post, it's still better than nothing.

Just hope to get it soon so I can start thinking how the heck I will fit it internally in my Archie (I have already a vague idea though). :lol:
Interesting, yours has a ROM on board, whereas mine doesn't. On the plus side you can still get BNC kit, so I'm sure you'll have it hooked up in no time.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”