Atari TT - FPU Overclock

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Atari TT - FPU Overclock

Post by Icky » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:01 pm

Steve wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:45 am
Was just re-reading your post again and you mentioned thinking about changing the fpu chip to a 40mhz varient, but I don't think you mention whether you did or not. Did you?
For the life of me I could not remember. I actually got my TT all back together again at the end of last year.

Its a bit packed in Gigafile, SD-IDE connected to Thunder board, USB poking out the back connected to Lightning board, 10MB ST-RAM board and Mach64 VGA card at the back.

IMG_3485.jpg
IMG_3485.jpg (197.21 KiB) Viewed 447 times

Just tried to take a look and the FPU is tucked away under the VME board but I managed to get my phone under enough to take a pic and it is the 40MHz variant.

IMG_3483 (1).jpg
IMG_3483 (1).jpg (32.46 KiB) Viewed 447 times

Steve
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Atari TT - FPU Overclock

Post by Steve » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:27 pm

Ah thanks for going to all the trouble of checking :) I am guessing that an overclocked FPU might help speed up some tasks in Netbsd since an FPU is required for that OS, I wonder what software use it or whether they just require an FPU as the base requirements for all possible types of calculations.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

Post Reply