PSU bracket remake ?

Open source STF clone project.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:03 am

That looks super nice! Great job!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

alienkidmj12
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by alienkidmj12 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:24 pm

congrats ;) :ugeek: any stl for the nice piece of work :)

User avatar
sandord
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by sandord » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:35 pm

alienkidmj12 wrote:
Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:24 pm
congrats ;) :ugeek: any stl for the nice piece of work :)
Thanks. I'll first have to open up the holes (there's an error in the model that causes the STL export to have closed holes). I think I'll have time tomorrow evening. I'm sure I will find more issues when printing it so I'm a little reluctant of posting the STL files before having done at least one print myself. This will probably save me from embarrasment :lol:

User avatar
sandord
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by sandord » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:03 pm

I worked on the bracket yesterday but got a little frustrated, Sketchup is really working against me now, can't get those holes to open up and other problems are suddenly arising... Will try again this weekend. I might have to redo parts of the design, but that won't be a lot of work since it will be a matter of replication, not re-design.

troed
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by troed » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:00 pm

sandord wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:03 pm
I worked on the bracket yesterday but got a little frustrated, Sketchup is really working against me now, can't get those holes to open up and other problems are suddenly arising... Will try again this weekend. I might have to redo parts of the design, but that won't be a lot of work since it will be a matter of replication, not re-design.
You should really move to using Fusion 360 instead. Takes more time to get into, but everything becomes easily solvable.

User avatar
sandord
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by sandord » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:11 pm

troed wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:00 pm
You should really move to using Fusion 360 instead. Takes more time to get into, but everything becomes easily solvable.
Thanks, I'll take that to heart. I was already thinking of getting rid of Sketchup since their recent commercial endeavours. I hate the free online version, currently using a free desktop version from a year or so ago.

Will take a look tomorrow, curious how it'll be.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by rpineau » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:27 pm

I too use the free Sketchup version and once you start running into face not properly closed issue.... like you see them closed in Sketchup, export the STL, load the STL ... HOLES ... EVERY-F#$%%ING-WHERE ...
I've installed Fusion but I haven't started learning it ... and I hate AutoDesk for what they did to EagleCad ...
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
sandord
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by sandord » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:55 am

troed wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:00 pm
You should really move to using Fusion 360 instead. Takes more time to get into, but everything becomes easily solvable.
Wow, €502 per year subscription... That's a bummer.

troed
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by troed » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:30 am

sandord wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:55 am
troed wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:00 pm
You should really move to using Fusion 360 instead. Takes more time to get into, but everything becomes easily solvable.
Wow, €502 per year subscription... That's a bummer.
Uh no no no. Free for hobbyist use.

User avatar
sandord
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: PSU bracket remake ?

Post by sandord » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:10 am

troed wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:30 am
Uh no no no. Free for hobbyist use.
Phew, that's a relieve.

In mean time I was experimenting with http://solvespace.com, which has some really nice constraint mechanisms. Working with those feels very assuring, it's something I've always missed in Sketchup. You know how easy it is to mess up something that is supposed to stay in proportion to something else. In the PSU bracket, for example, I could define a constraint that ensures the legs are always perpendicular to the bracket.

Right now I'm playing with Fusion 360, let's see if it can do constaints ;-)

Post Reply