RESET circuit tweaks

Super ST Project. Lets create a awesome new ST! Fix all the bugs and add more cool stuff!
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:41 pm

Some little tweaks to try..

Replace C901 with a 1uF ceramic... This is basically what the Falcon circuit does. It affects the delay time after the reset button has been pressed. I don't think this will affect anything..

Mostly reset needs long delay on power up to make sure things settle down before the CPU starts doing stuff. This capacitor is 22uF with 10K resistor...And takes about 0.1second to reach 2V. So likely a 1uF ceramic capacitor with 200K should pretty much do the same job...Though I think a slightly higher value capacitor of 2.2uF to increase the delay little longer probably be a good thing anyway..

Really I am just looking for ways to get rid of all those nasty electrolytic's...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:43 pm

If it's of any help, my board quite often needs a reset on the first power up.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:48 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:43 pm
If it's of any help, my board quite often needs a reset on the first power up.
Ah right.. you could try swapping R919 with a higher value like 22K or 47K initially ... I think much higher than that, the cap will struggle to charge.

Might be worth checking the voltage across C903 after power down, make sure the voltage is crashing down to 0V quickly.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:50 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:48 pm
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:43 pm
If it's of any help, my board quite often needs a reset on the first power up.
Ah right.. you could try swapping R919 with a higher value like 22K or 47K initially ... I think much higher than that, the cap will struggle to charge.

Might be worth checking the voltage across C903 after power down, make sure the voltage is crashing down to 0V quickly.
Ok, apologies, I had forgotten I'd said I'd try this. I replaced R919 with a 47K resistor and the board no longer needs a reset after powering up :D
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:58 pm

actually, ignore my last comment, on the 10th power up it failed, so I've put a 22K into R919 instead and so far so good.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:29 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:58 pm
actually, ignore my last comment, on the 10th power up it failed, so I've put a 22K into R919 instead and so far so good.
OK thanks. So probably the cap needs a larger value in there and anything over 22K is to high to charge it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:37 pm

I can change the cap too if you'd like. Which ones and what value would you like me to try?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:45 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:37 pm
I can change the cap too if you'd like. Which ones and what value would you like me to try?
Sure... C903, higher value such as 47uF.... You may need to put back the 10K in there for it to work...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7434
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:03 pm

While I was looking the MEGA ST circuit, I noticed the reset circuit used a different chip than the normal 555..

What really caught my attention was that it wasn't using a inverter on the output.. As I want to reduce the amount of parts and do away with most of the inverters if possible.. This would mean I can do it with this new chip as it is uses buffers...

rst.JPG
rst.JPG (70.36 KiB) Viewed 923 times
The chip is still available..

https://www.mouser.co.uk/ProductDetail/ ... gIhdvD_BwE
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:11 pm

And it's a reasonable price too. Works fine on my Megas
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

Post Reply