RESET circuit tweaks

Open source STF clone project.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:26 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:11 pm
And it's a reasonable price too. Works fine on my Megas
I do have a odd reset fault on my machine like I think you guys had also.. I have to press the reset button to get it to turn on sometimes.. I think using the proper reset chip is a good thing to do anyway...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:53 pm

Did a quick board to replace the NE555 the TL7705...

The two electrolytic's will need removing from the motherboard and this adapter board soldering's place..

I added in a jumper link because there is a inverted and non-inverted output on the TL7705... We need the inverted one to straight swap with the 555, but also there is a inverter driver (U1 74LS05) .... This will be replaced with a noninverting type such as 74LS05, as such the jump on the board needs to be changed for the noninverting output.

So hopefully this new reset circuit will be a lot better than the old one. And also it does away with a inverter chip and uses a straight buffer instead... I plan to use these buffers to replace as many chips as possible on the STF...

rss.jpg
rss.jpg (111.97 KiB) Viewed 114 times
rs2.jpg
rs2.jpg (45.43 KiB) Viewed 114 times

As before, If people want to try it, here is the file...
STF_RESET_MOD.zip
(7.7 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:43 pm

Reset boards just arrived :)

I got a few of these made, so what I will do is just include them in the 1772 PCB bag...

Will add these "kits" into my store hopefully later today..

As said before, I will just do it cheapest first class postage...

rstb.jpg
rstb.jpg (22.76 KiB) Viewed 86 times

STORE LINK

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0014
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:31 pm

Been working on the reset board today. Not much luck.

IMG_3254.png
IMG_3254.png (766.37 KiB) Viewed 48 times

The board sometimes has the STF sat at white screen or black screen and on the odd occasion does reset and boot.

The reset switch has no effect before or after the machine has booted.

I have been playing around with different values of resistor / capacitors as there is quite a difference between the values for the board and what the MEGA ST circuit has.

Will start to trace the outputs etc to see what is going on.

One other thing, have been doing a clean up on the original patch as the wire link is no longer needed with this board in place.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:01 pm

Don't forget those jumper pads give a inverted and non inverted output..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 573
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:02 pm

Mine is working well now with the original 555, so not sure I will tweak it yet.

Just need to get my floppy working again.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:10 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:01 pm
Don't forget those jumper pads give a inverted and non inverted output..
I actually tried out both as it wasn't too clear which one to use.

I believe from reading the thread that the inverted one is the one to use (middle and bottom jumper pads). Correct me if I am wrong Exxos.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:15 pm

Not sure offhand... Pin 3 on the 555 should switch when you press the reset switch ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PaulJ » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:35 pm

Most likely will not put in the reset flat in as the 555 reset circuit runs flawlessly here. It always powers on with no issues and resets reliably. In this case I may follow the old rule of "If its not broken don't fix it".. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Also it breaks the zoning law that says within one chip of the CPU stack heights of greater that one story are not allowed. They block the ocean view of the CPU!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:41 pm

The new board will have the new reset circuit in place.. Its part of my master plan to do away with the TTL chips :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply