Testing the blitter

Super ST Project. Lets create a awesome new ST! Fix all the bugs and add more cool stuff!
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:56 am

Long story short, it didn't work. :(

I tested the blitter in my STFM, and it works. In the STF I just get a totally black screen. I took the blitter out and reconnected the jumpers, and the machine still works fine. So no damage to be happening anywhere to the blitter or glue. I retested the blitter in my STFM and it still works..

So we have another mystery to solve..

I will start checking, I got really confused with all the BG IO stuff.. So I will start checking it all again, if anyone else can check it all out it will of course help...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:28 am

I cannot find anything wrong the diagram currently... I will keep checking..

There is BGO pin 45 of the GLUE where it is not connected to anything.. But I cannot see anywhere it goes currently...

EDIT:
Nowhere it seems... Checked on a few diagrams..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:48 pm

I cannot see anything wrong anywhere.. I have used the MEGA ST4 diagram to get the connections as it seems there are no jumper links in the mix on that machine.. Tracing that with my diagram both look the same to me..

:shrug: :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1726
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by PhilC » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:55 pm

I did get the black screen when I put it in mine, it could be that I was just unlucky with the GLUE?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:57 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:55 pm
I did get the black screen when I put it in mine, it could be that I was just unlucky with the GLUE?
Maybe..

Nothing got damaged on my machine...yet...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by PaulJ » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm

Guess I'll solder the socket in and give it a try. Think I'll start it with the test cart and a serial connection in case the screen is froozen. Could you tell if the processor was running?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:05 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Guess I'll solder the socket in and give it a try. Think I'll start it with the test cart and a serial connection in case the screen is froozen. Could you tell if the processor was running?
I've not scoped out anything yet, so don't know what is running or not... I'm checking the diagram over and over and now looking into the pull ups to see if they are to low in value or something...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:10 pm

:lolbig: :blonde:

OK running now :mrgreen:

IMG_3343.JPG
IMG_3343.JPG (111.6 KiB) Viewed 930 times

Need to check these figures are actually correct next... We don't actually have a STFM benchmark with blitter in the benchmark section :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by PaulJ » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:28 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:10 pm
:lolbig: :blonde:

OK running now :mrgreen:


IMG_3343.JPG


Need to check these figures are actually correct next... We don't actually have a STFM benchmark with blitter in the benchmark section :roll:
I've been homing out lines other than address and data... all look good so far. What was the issue you had? Something I need to change?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7643
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Testing the blitter

Post by exxos » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:32 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:28 pm
I've been homing out lines other than address and data... all look good so far. What was the issue you had? Something I need to change?
I un-soldered the wrong jumpers :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply