SUGGESTIONS

All information relating to the Alpha plus all the WIP threads etc.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by troed » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:11 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:42 pm
I guess patched code could check the register to see if a write fails or something.. Then it knows if its running on the new MMU or not... or just separate patched versions of software :shrug:
Yeah that's no problem. Demos can easily check to see if the functionality is there, and new TOS images could set cookies.

User avatar
alienkidmj12
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by alienkidmj12 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:44 am

exxos,

you will be down in the hall of fame for someone to reproduced an atari stfm,

it will more than likely be in someones collection in 25 years time, perhaps in a perspex box for viewing purposes only :)

passed down through the generations :) until no one even knows what its for :)

dave

KyleB wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:11 am
Been thinking a while about the ram being a falcon board. Not sure that's a good idea, I mean I get the basic principle - all falcs are 14mb these days it seems so why not recycle - but not sure that these 4MB boards are going to be all that plentiful anymore after 25 years of being chucked in the bin.

Is there not some 4MB ramchip that will work in an ST circuit? Or even just one 4mb simm, seems easy enough to find on ebay especially laptop stuff.

stephen_usher
Posts: 1873
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by stephen_usher » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:28 pm

The one thing that the ST hasn't got which would be highly useful would be an expansion port to add peripherals to.

The discussion about the second CPU got me thinking about how you could create a generic expansion system memory mapped into the ST address space. Then occurred to me that we do actually have one, though it's read-only (unless you use tricks) and can't generate an interrupt: the cartridge port.

Of course, the new STF would have to be fully backwards compatible with cartridges but I was wondering what control lines would be needed to be added somehow to give full write functionality and allow it to generate an interrupt. Would it be few enough to use a standard connector and short ribbon cable from an additional externally accessible port?

Of course, one of the great benefits would be that TOS tries to boot from the cartridge, so a ROM could be used by any peripheral it initialise it out of the box, as it were.

I could see it being useful not only for such things as ethernet devices (faster than NetUSBee as it'd have interrupts and not use "write using read" hacks) but possibly reasonably fast USB or other specialist devices. It could open up all sorts of possibilities without having to open the case.

Any thoughts as to whether this might be feasible?
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by rpineau » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:34 pm

I agree the ST need a proper expansion bus.
I put on ont he 68020 card me and Juliusz are working on. It has all the 68020/30 signals plus router BR/BG and 7 IRQ pins (that runs to the CPLD which will then trigger an level 5 interrupt, which in a MSTE is the same as the SCC and on ST/STE is not used).
And we already have a few extra card in mind (and partially developed) like Ethernet.
May be a subset of this expansion bus could be used on the STFM remake in 24/16 mode instead of the 32/32 mode.
Rodolphe
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:35 pm

stephen_usher wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:28 pm
The one thing that the ST hasn't got which would be highly useful would be an expansion port to add peripherals to.
VERSION 2.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=71

stephen_usher wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:28 pm
I could see it being useful not only for such things as ethernet devices (faster than NetUSBee as it'd have interrupts and not use "write using read" hacks) but possibly reasonably fast USB or other specialist devices. It could open up all sorts of possibilities without having to open the case.
There was already some talk about this last year.. http://atariage.com/forums/topic/267907 ... r-improve/

At some point I have considered reusing one of the 3 gnd connections to route a RW signal to the cartridge port.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by rpineau » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:37 pm

Ooopps .... yep... version 2 ... I'll walk myself out ..
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by exxos » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:38 pm

One of main goals of project is to add a range of IO ports.. in all that now unused motherboard space. Already been talked about lots over the past year.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2965
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: UCWM0AEeQ4Y0BkWJeGXu52tQ
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by Icky » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:52 pm

Have been thinking a bit about the board and power being available.

When using several items with the board eg. Gigafile or other internal stuff that requires power would it not be advantageous to add another one or two power out pads next to CN2 i.e. a CN3.

That way if anyone wants to add in one or two internal items it can be powered easily

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15299
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: SUGGESTIONS

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:58 am

Yeah I can ad aux power connections anywhere ...
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~

Post Reply

Return to “ALPHA DEVELOPMENT INFO”