Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by Maeke » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:47 am

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:55 pm
Yeah, I was reading, I take it that was a late model STE with no socket?
That's exactly that.
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: STE Booster instable

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:54 am

Hiya,

SIMMs arrived, tried them out, no change :(
exxos wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:49 am
Only other thing is to make sure P100 resistor pack is 1.2K. Its near the front of the CPU/Blitter somewhere.
If I interpret M9-1-122J correctly, it is 9 pin, bussed, 1.2k with 5% tolerance.

When I have some spare time, I will recheck the soldering connections and see if 16MHz improves anything.

But I guess, the socket construction simply is crap and I will have to rethink my strategy :(
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE Booster instable

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:42 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:54 am
But I guess, the socket construction simply is crap and I will have to rethink my strategy :(
It doesn't take much to push the STE over the edge. A slight bit of noise in the wrong place and total chaos. Its why it takes me so long to debug boosters, its more like 1 day to design the things, then 6 months tracing why the thing isn't stable. Its even worse on the STFM :roll:.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:50 pm

Yep. And it sucks even more, when you have no scope. But I just sold a refurbished Amiga 500 for 210 EUR, so I guess next month I will be able to order my Rigol DS1054Z.

I guess it will not make much sense to continue searching for the cause, until I have the proper equipment. At least today my desoldering station arrived... a chinese cheapo, but I guess better than 2 km of solder wick ;)
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by IngoQ » Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:22 pm

Damn it... I confused GND and VCC on the booster board, and managed to kill the CPU and probably the GAL... :(

When replacing the CPU with the original one, it still wouldn't work, I had to reconnect the original CPU clock, then the system booted again. So I guess the CPU is definately gone, and the GAL and/or more components on the booster PCB as well.

So I need replacement, but what do I do?

For hacking into the machine, the 1.5 Booster seems a simpler choice, but can it do 32MHz?

And of course, I will need a new MC68HC000...
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by exxos » Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:39 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:22 pm
For hacking into the machine, the 1.5 Booster seems a simpler choice, but can it do 32MHz?
I ran it at 32mhz for the "prototype" for the STE V1 booster. Though I only tried it on that one machine, while it works, I cannot say if it would work on any other machines without issues.. So you probably would be better hacking in the proper STE booster.. I can send you a new CPU & GAL if needs be..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by IngoQ » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:31 pm

FINALLY! :yay: :excited:

With Exxos help I managed to successfully push my STE to 32MHz... and not only by using the STE Booster, but it works with the 1.5 Booster as well :)

Now I'll do a write up in the Member Blog section for others to scare off ;)
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by exxos » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:30 pm

IngoQ wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:31 pm
FINALLY! :yay: :excited:

With Exxos help I managed to successfully push my STE to 32MHz... and not only by using the STE Booster, but it works with the 1.5 Booster as well :)

Now I'll do a write up in the Member Blog section for others to scare off ;)
Congrats! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

You may need to tweak some resistors if using V1.5 and you have stability issues.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by IngoQ » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:32 am

exxos wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:30 pm
You may need to tweak some resistors if using V1.5 and you have stability issues.
I had it run GB6 loops for a couple of hours (100+ iterations) and had not a single crash, so I am quite positive :) But I will do some more testing.
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

User avatar
IngoQ
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Help resolving STE Booster instability?

Post by IngoQ » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:32 pm

See the follow-up here, where I describe it in detail:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=358
Ingo :geek:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Post Reply