Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Problems with your machine in general.
marss
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by marss » Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:18 pm

Despite a new PSU, still no signal ;(

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:00 pm

No video can be bad NVRAM settings, or missing 12V on the video DAC.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

marss
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by marss » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:51 am

thanks for the replies.
If it were one of the both, where is the problem located on the motherboard, how to fix and what elements are needed to fix them?
Thanks

CodeKiller
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:15 pm

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by CodeKiller » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:26 am

exxos wrote:
Sun Sep 02, 2018 6:00 pm
No video can be bad NVRAM settings, or missing 12V on the video DAC.
Tbh the video DAC does not need 12V but the PAL/NTSC encoder does -- if you have it (and a modulator) installed.
If the internal fan spins, then you have 12V.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:58 am

CodeKiller wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:26 am
Tbh the video DAC does not need 12V but the PAL/NTSC encoder does -- if you have it (and a modulator) installed.
If the internal fan spins, then you have 12V.
If 12V is missing, you don't get RGB output. Actually seems a common fault. Seems like the dac fails (cant see 12V on it, thought there was), but never bothered to really look into it much.

Not everyone has a fan installed, and just because 12V is is on the fan, doesn't mean 12V is reaching everywhere else it needs to go. Same with the 5V rail. Blown power tracks seems common.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

CodeKiller
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:15 pm

Re: Falcon - NO VIDEO SIGNAL

Post by CodeKiller » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:27 am

exxos wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:58 am
If 12V is missing, you don't get RGB output. Actually seems a common fault. Seems like the dac fails (cant see 12V on it, though there was), but never bothered to really look into it.
https://www.exdwh.com/data/STV8438CV.pdf
You can even check the gerbers: no 12V trace goes to the RGB DAC.
exxos wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:58 am
Not everyone has a fan installed, and just because 12V is is on the fan, doesn't mean 12V is reaching everywhere else it needs to go. Same with the 5V rail. Blown power tracks seems common.
It was an answer to "is there?" not for "is everywhere?". Of course it can be blown track, but that would be highly unlikely or at least clearly visible.
But it is not the case with the 5V. It is distributed on a power plane, so only vias/leads can be damaged (locally at a chip) but no power trace (as there isn't any)

Post Reply