Falcon is freezing in demos

Problems with your machine in general.
KyleB
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:08 pm

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by KyleB » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:38 pm

calimero wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:00 pm
2) f030test.zip - use Google Translate (or similar) to translate LIESMICH.TXT :
Only thing in that file is this:

Code: Select all

#############################################################
#                               #############################
#                            ################################....
#                         ########  ###  ###    ####    #####....
#                      ####   ####  ###  ####  ####  ##  ####....
#                   ###### ### ###  ###  ####  ########  ####....
#                ######### #   ###  # #  ####  #######  #####....
#             ############ #  ####       ####  ######  ######....
#          ############### #######   #   ####  #####  #######....
#       ###################    ###  ###  ###    ###      ####....
#    ########################################################....
# ############################                              #....
############################## Maus Wiesbaden2 0611 9410986 #....
##############################                              #....
##############################   Mailbox fuer den Grožraum  #....
##############################        Mainz/Wiesbaden       #....
#############################################################....
    .............................................................
    .............................................................
Don't see a need to translate it

I want to try tuxie's solution, if anyone can clarify it.

Steve
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by Steve » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:05 am

To clarify Tuxies post, go to https://mikrosk.github.io/clockpatch/

You'll want to download the schematics for the Phantom clock patch, the best clock patch ever made. It is fairly easy to make, the soldering to the sdma pcb requires some fine skill with soldering.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

calimero
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:27 pm

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by calimero » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:59 am

KyleB wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:38 pm
calimero wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:00 pm
2) f030test.zip - use Google Translate (or similar) to translate LIESMICH.TXT :
Only thing in that file is this:

Code: Select all

#############################################################
#                               #############################
#                            ################################....
#                         ########  ###  ###    ####    #####....
#                      ####   ####  ###  ####  ####  ##  ####....
#                   ###### ### ###  ###  ####  ########  ####....
#                ######### #   ###  # #  ####  #######  #####....
#             ############ #  ####       ####  ######  ######....
#          ############### #######   #   ####  #####  #######....
#       ###################    ###  ###  ###    ###      ####....
#    ########################################################....
# ############################                              #....
############################## Maus Wiesbaden2 0611 9410986 #....
##############################                              #....
##############################   Mailbox fuer den Grožraum  #....
##############################        Mainz/Wiesbaden       #....
#############################################################....
    .............................................................
    .............................................................
Don't see a need to translate it
I made mistake, it is not LIESMICH.TXT but rather README.GER with description

Code: Select all

Diese Information besteht aus sechs Dateien, eine davon ist diese
Datei README.GER. Die anderen sind REALFFT.PRG, REALFFT.LOD, DMA2DSP.PRG
und DMA2DSP.LOD. Die .PRG Dateien und die .LOD Dateien von jedem
(REALFFT und DMA2DSP) gehîren paarweise zusammen und mÅssen jeweils im
gleichen Verzeichnis stehen. Einfach die .PRG-Datei aufrufen, und diese
ruft das .LOD auf, sofern es im aktuellen Verzeichnis vorhanden ist.

DMA2DSP ist ein Programm, welches Nullbytes per DMA in den SSI-Port des
DSP schickt. Ein DSP-Programm empfÑngt die Daten und zÑhlt alle
empfangenen Daten, die nicht null sind. Allen 4096 empfangenen Bytes wird
...
KyleB wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:38 pm
I want to try tuxie's solution, if anyone can clarify it.
I am really keen to see how you will make Clockpatch when you are "to fast" to read manuals... ;)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

KyleB
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:08 pm

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by KyleB » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:28 pm

Steve wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:05 am
To clarify Tuxies post, go to https://mikrosk.github.io/clockpatch/

You'll want to download the schematics for the Phantom clock patch, the best clock patch ever made. It is fairly easy to make, the soldering to the sdma pcb requires some fine skill with soldering.
Schematic read, exact parts ordered, even got a reel of thin single core wire since I figure a falcon deserves better than whatever I've nicked out of other stuff. Now to play the waiting game.

Steve
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by Steve » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:34 pm

I dunno if this helps but here is the one I made:
IMG_20180511_134446.jpg
IMG_20180511_134446.jpg (2.28 MiB) Viewed 968 times
IMG_20180511_134429.jpg
IMG_20180511_134429.jpg (2.96 MiB) Viewed 968 times
IMG_20180511_133527.jpg
IMG_20180511_133527.jpg (237.01 KiB) Viewed 968 times
IMG_20180510_182345.jpg
IMG_20180510_182345.jpg (257.53 KiB) Viewed 968 times
IMG_20180510_182317.jpg
IMG_20180510_182317.jpg (280.78 KiB) Viewed 968 times
Lol it looks like a proper bodge job, DIY mode engaged... but yeah, it works fooken perfectly.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

KyleB
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:08 pm

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by KyleB » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:01 pm

Thanks mate, that gives me a better idea of what I'm doing.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7873
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by exxos » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:20 pm

There is of course a neat little solution ..

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0073
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

KyleB
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:08 pm

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by KyleB » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:37 pm

Well aware mate and I was considering it, but I don't know that it's compatible with a phantom overclocker.

You'll get another sale from me soon enough. Shame someone just grabbed the last of your PSUs from right under my finger.

Steve
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by Steve » Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:00 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:20 pm
There is of course a neat little solution ..

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0073
Chris unfortunately your clock patch isn't compatible with any kind of bus overclocked Falcon, I used to use your patch (as you know) but when I installed the Phantom bus overclocker I had to build this patch instead.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7873
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon is freezing in demos

Post by exxos » Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:50 pm

Steve wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:00 pm
Chris unfortunately your clock patch isn't compatible with any kind of bus overclocked Falcon, I used to use your patch (as you know) but when I installed the Phantom bus overclocker I had to build this patch instead.
Like I said before, its likely the 100R input resistors I fitted on the original boards is to high value for higher speeds. IIRC on later boards I fitted 33R and there wasn't any problems. But nobody yet has really confirmed this or not yet. I don't have any bus speeders to try, so someone else will have to try it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”