Help STE CA4003290 Black lines No KB click or Floppy

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
User avatar
zack4mac
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:33 am

Help STE CA4003290 Black lines No KB click or Floppy

Post by zack4mac » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:00 pm

Hello I just started looking at my Atari and I cant get it to work can anyone please help.

I have a non functioning UK Atari 520STE rev CA4003290 with the following symptoms

Power LED working
Grey screen that then changes to white with black lines see pic 1
No Keyboard sound - click
No Floppy drive or Floppy access light

Things I have tried
Clean board and ram sockets with air
Moved ram into different banks
Have tried alternate ram, two types of 30 pin sim, two of each

Secured in socket
Blitter C101643
CPU 68000FN8

Tried two other working Atari STE/FM power supplies

Re-socketed using a puller
Shifter C301712-001[/img]

The only thing that made any difference was when I replaced memory with 2 of the total 6 sims
Causing the screen to change from black and white lines see pic 1 to a white screen with light grazed lines see pic 2
PIC 1.jpg
PIC 1.jpg (294.15 KiB) Viewed 125 times
PIC 2.jpg
PIC 2.jpg (102.6 KiB) Viewed 125 times
Thanks for any time and advice you can give me.
Mike
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt
"Bertrand Russell" :?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help STE CA4003290 Black lines No KB click or Floppy

Post by exxos » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:39 pm

Looks like bad ram or socket contacts.. are you sure your ram works, and what size type are they ? Some simms damage the sockets and make bad contacts when others are used. .

I'm assuming you have them in the backmost socket , then miss one, then the 3rd from back... also try pushing them gently forward and turn on..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
zack4mac
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:33 am

Re: Help STE CA4003290 Black lines No KB click or Floppy

Post by zack4mac » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:28 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:39 pm
I'm assuming you have them in the backmost socket , then miss one, then the 3rd from back... also try pushing them gently forward and turn on..
Cheers Exxos, I cant believe how I forgot that :oops: I did remember they needed to be in pairs, 20 plus year go quick. :D
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt
"Bertrand Russell" :?

Post Reply