STF stuck in boot loop

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

STF stuck in boot loop

Post by sandord » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:07 am

My STF is stuck in a boot loop. It accesses the floppy drive for a second or two and then reboots. I don't think it's seeking or anything, I just hear the motor sound. Without a floppy drive connected, it reboots after a few seconds as well.

If I'm right, this behaviour started right after I turned the machine on with one of the 6 TOS rom chips in reversed position in its socket. A very stupid mistake of course, I should've double checked.

Anyway, I'd like to know if it's likely I killed the rom chip of perhaps some other part of the ST. I don't have any replacement roms to try. Luckily this is my spare machine so I'm not panicing at the moment 😜

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by exxos » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:35 am

First guess is blown ROM chip.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

tzok
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by tzok » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:14 am

Were they a factory Mask ROMs or EPROMs/Flash? Latter ones are unlikely to survive this.

User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by sandord » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:49 am

tzok wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:14 am
Were they a factory Mask ROMs or EPROMs/Flash? Latter ones are unlikely to survive this.
There are handwritten labels on them so I guess that says enough.

derkom
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by derkom » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:59 am

sandord wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:49 am
There are handwritten labels on them so I guess that says enough.
Not that you have much doubt at this point, but if you rub your finger across the label and feel the erase window in the center, that would confirm it's an EPROM. And yeah, you don't want to put those in backwards. :D Fortunately, not a difficult or expensive problem to resolve.

User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by sandord » Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:39 am

I'm not home right now so no running the roms right now (that sounds awkward :P).

I haven't looked into TOS upgrades yet but I think I read there are flash rom solutions, which sounds quite attractive, being able to flash a different TOS version into the roms whenever I like.

tzok
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by tzok » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:58 pm

sandord wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:39 am
Ibeing able to flash a different TOS version into the roms whenever I like.
Stock ST isn't able to flash them in-place. So you still have to remove them and program in an external programmer just like standard EPROMs, yet it is much faster than with EPROMs, an you don't need to have the UV-C lamp to erase them.

User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by sandord » Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:15 pm

derkom wrote:
Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:59 am
Fortunately, not a difficult or expensive problem to resolve.
Unfortunately, every option I can find seems to be quite a bit more expensive than just buying a complete ST. I mean, the ROMS cost a few euros a piece and I'd need 6. And I don't have a programmer...

I guess this ST will be sitting in my cupboard for parts.

derkom
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by derkom » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:57 am

sandord wrote:
Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:15 pm
I guess this ST will be sitting in my cupboard for parts.
Sounds like a candidate for the next iteration of the STF remake project. :)

User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: STF stuck in boot loop

Post by sandord » Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:31 am

derkom wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:57 am
sandord wrote:
Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:15 pm
I guess this ST will be sitting in my cupboard for parts.
Sounds like a candidate for the next iteration of the STF remake project. :)
:dualthumbup:

Post Reply