PAK issues

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
pakman
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:04 pm

PAK issues

Post by pakman » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:36 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:36 pm
.. as my PAK still doesn't work and I know everything else on it does.
Some questions on that:
- Which PCB revision do you have (photo maybe, both sides)?
- Which TOS on the mainboard?
- Which TOS on the PAK?
- Which GAL JEDECs?
- Which jumper settings?
- What is the speed rating of your components (CPU, FPU, EPROMs, GALs, SRAMs, Tag-RAMs?
And finally:
Can you tell more than just "doesn't work"?
What happens when you are switching on?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6863
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PAK issues

Post by exxos » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:53 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:36 pm
.. as my PAK still doesn't work and I know everything else on it does.
Was this pak020 or 030? I have a pak020 and tried multiple setups and never got it working. Though I sent it to RJ and he says it works fine on his machines. I even have the same motherboard as him, also tried various PSUs and voltages and just doesn't work on my boards.

Oddly I did have it working once as I benchmarked it.. It pretty much went in my draw, came out months later, likely out in same motherboard and never worked since. Best I get I think I got was a row of bombs on the screen.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:46 pm

Its on both a 020 and an 030, ill take photos in a bit. I've been trying to get it to ork on to Mega ST's. I do have an STFM to try it in but not put the socket on the CPU yet to do so.

On the 020 I am using 2.06 that I split myself and a version that RJ split just to rule out my error there. I get the usually /Halt High etc but its like its not accessing the ROM.

On the 030 I have 3.06 that has provided to me by another member of the forum (sorry, cant remember ho to spell your name) and again I get as far as a white screen, halt high etc.

For the costs of the GALs I've ordered some more to rule out cheap chinese copies, so will program them and try them. Whilst I'm waiting I'll try it in an STFM too, even though the Mega I've used runs great with other boosters etc.

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:47 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:53 pm


Was this pak020 or 030? I have a pak020 and tried multiple setups and never got it working. Though I sent it to RJ and he says it works fine on his machines. I even have the same motherboard as him, also tried various PSUs and voltages and just doesn't work on my boards.
Which board version was it exxos? maybe one of my STFM's is the same and I can try it?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6863
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PAK issues

Post by exxos » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:57 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:47 pm
Which board version was it exxos? maybe one of my STFM's is the same and I can try it?
Its the normal STFM boards... viewtopic.php?f=56&t=502
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:11 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:57 pm
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:47 pm
Which board version was it exxos? maybe one of my STFM's is the same and I can try it?
Its the normal STFM boards... viewtopic.php?f=56&t=502
Ok, got one of those, will get the cpu socketed

czietz
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by czietz » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:56 am

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:46 pm
For the costs of the GALs I've ordered some more to rule out cheap chinese copies, so will program them and try them. Whilst I'm waiting I'll try it in an STFM too, even though the Mega I've used runs great with other boosters etc.
I think pakman was more referring to the actual version of the files that you program into the GALs.

Also, you didn't answer a very important question of his: "Which TOS on the mainboard?" Also, I assume you have an English language TOS on your PAK?

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:24 am

I'm sorry, I am busy with the family this weekend. I am a grandparent and my grandchildren are here to visit, so I told you what I knew from memory.

When they leave later I will list the jed files. Tos is English and the mainboard tos is 1.02.

czietz
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by czietz » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:39 am

Originally and as mentioned in the PAK manual, only German TOS on the PAK would start with TOS 1.02 or 1.04 installed on the mainboard. Other language versions required special start ROMs on the mainboard, instead. I don't know whether Holger (pakman) ever managed to change that for UK TOS -- and if he did fix it, of course I also don't know whether your TOS on the PAK contains that fix.

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:55 am

I've used the same Tos and Jed files for the 020 as the other guys here have, there's a thread called Pak 020 repository, would link it but not that good with the forum yet.

The 030 details are it's an English but patched version of the 3.06 tos done by Holger for one of the other guys.

Jeds I'll get a bit later on when the grand kids have gone.

Post Reply