Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Problems with your machine in general.
christopher271828
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 3:06 pm

Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by christopher271828 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:29 pm

Re-discovered my Atari 1040STf in a forgotten corner of a closet and want to recreate my early 90's computer experience. But, like all old thing ( including myself ), it seems she's got a few issues. After getting a Gotek and setting up FlashFloppy, I soon discovered that my 1040 was acting as a 520. From the screenshot of Sysinfo you can see bank 1 is not working.

I have removed and re-setted PLCCs ( MMU/etc. ), but no luck. I've read that perhaps bending the pins in the PLCC to improve contact might help. Has anyone seen this before or know what/where I can start checking?

Thanks ahead for any info,
Christopher
Attachments
IMG1.jpg
IMG1.jpg (249.46 KiB) Viewed 770 times
IMG2.jpg
IMG2.jpg (202.74 KiB) Viewed 770 times
IMG3.jpg
IMG3.jpg (210.37 KiB) Viewed 770 times

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by PhilC » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:00 pm

A lot can happen over the years, mostly corrosion.

If your computer was working before it was put away then its quite likely that its due to a bad connection here or there.

As you said, take out the MMU and chevk that all pins in the socket are not deformed or stuck in, then clean the socket and MMU with IPA. Leave it to dry and then reinsert the MMU carefully. Make sure you ine the pins up and push it in so that all 4 corners push in at once.

Then give it a go.

Failing that, it's not impossible it's a dry joint or corroded pcb track but that's harder to find.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by PhilC » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:04 pm

Have a look at this post for info on socket pins.

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1484&p=16092&hilit=Mmu+pins#p16092
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

doc
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:33 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by doc » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi. Did you finaly found out the problem ?
I have A 1040STF that presents exactly the same trouble. Bank 1 has dissapeared. I cleaned all the board and the MMU but it did not change anything.
AI also wondered if Exxos 4MB Upgrade (STFM 4MB RAM EXPANSION) would permit to get 4MB Back in this case ...
IMG_4065.JPG
IMG_4065.JPG (363.88 KiB) Viewed 346 times
IMG_3270.JPG
IMG_3270.JPG (467.95 KiB) Viewed 346 times

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by Icky » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:20 pm

doc wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:16 pm
Hi. Did you finaly found out the problem ?
I have A 1040STF that presents exactly the same trouble. Bank 1 has dissapeared. I cleaned all the board and the MMU but it did not change anything.
AI also wondered if Exxos 4MB Upgrade (STFM 4MB RAM EXPANSION) would permit to get 4MB Back in this case.
I would recommend fault finding the current problem before putting in a 4MB expansion as you may not be fixing the underlying issue and possibly make it harder to diagnose going forward.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by rubber_jonnie » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:36 pm

I'd agree with Icky, you need to fix the exisiting problem before you do anything else.

If you've tweaked the PLCC socket pins, also make sure you clean the IC pins with IPA too, or something like DeOxit.

You can use a multimeter to buzz out all the lines, I have had to do this before and found that some of the address lines required re-joining with bodge wires on the underside to make things work again. Losing a whole bank maybe that 5v or GND is missing to the chips so also worth buzzing out.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

DoG
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by DoG » Mon Aug 26, 2019 6:18 pm

I got a bank missing on one of mine Mega ST. It was a faulty ram chip (or several). So just changed it (them) and got the whole bank back. So no mmu chip is faulty. I tried the "piggy back method" but it didn't work to get the bank back.

doc
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:33 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by doc » Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:51 pm

Hi,

Thank you everybody for all your nice answers. Following your words, I tested all what I could on the RAM.
First of all the board is composed of 2 banks of TMM41256P-15 chips (I included a datashit here).
TMM41256P-15.jpg
TMM41256P-15.jpg (38.24 KiB) Viewed 285 times
I made some measurments (with a voltmeter, i do not have a scope)

1) Without power : All electric continuity (GRN and 5V) seems ok on every pin of each chip.

2) With power : here is the voltage I measured on each pins of each chips
A8 : 2,22 volts
DIN : between 2,89 and 3,15 volts
WRITE : 5,04 volts
RAS : 3,50 volts on BANK 1 / 4,12 volts on BANK 2 (strange isn't it ?)
A0 : 2,36 volts
A2 : 1,98 volts
A1 : 1,99 volts
VCC : 5,04 volts
VSS : 0 volts
CAS : 4,42 on BANK 1 / 5,04 on BANK 2 (strange again ...)
DOUT : from 2,43 volts to 3,19 volts
A6 : 2,24 volts
A3 : 1,98 volts
A4 : 1,99 volts
A5 : 2,27 volts
A7 : 2,25 volts

3) I also measured the voltage on the following resistors I know have to deal with the memory.
tensions.jpg
tensions.jpg (105.52 KiB) Viewed 285 times
Unfortunately, I'm not good enough in electronics to find out the trouble. What I noticed is the strange voltages differencies happening on RAS and CAS pins between the 2 banks. Not sure if I can conclude that BANK 2 is out of order ... can you ?

Another idea, but not sure at all : I used to change my TOS from 1.0 to 1.4 ... Do you think this could have to deal with ?

Any help appreciated ;)
Best

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7639
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:06 pm

You can't measure these signals with a simple voltage meter. You need a scope. but it doesn't prove anything either way.

Your options are, to get the diagnostic cart and serial link to a PC to see if it gives any clues. Or unsolder the problem bank, put sockets in, and get some new DRAM chips and just replace the whole bank.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

doc
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:33 pm

Re: Help bringing my 1040STf back to life

Post by doc » Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:46 pm

Perhaps i'm wrong but the measures I get would say that there is no cut tracks on the board. So in your opinion does it worth a try to your 4MB upgrade (STFM 4MB RAM EXPANSION) ...

Post Reply