STe - one controler port dead

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
docrv
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:34 pm

STe - one controler port dead

Post by docrv » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:25 pm

Hello all,

My STe right mouse controler port looks dead, despite of resoldering many contacts (following Exxos "PART 4 - Keyboard" procedure). I've double checked by controling continuity between the port pins and various contact on the keyboard board. Everything looks good. Is there something else I should test ?

Thanks for your help.

DocRV

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe - one controler port dead

Post by exxos » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:51 pm

How are you resting the ports work or not ? Have you considers the joystick or mouse lead is faulty ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

docrv
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:34 pm

Re: STe - one controler port dead

Post by docrv » Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:48 pm

Hi Exxos,

So kind to reply.
Yes, I crossed check with a (working) mouse and a (working) joystick. Everything is allright using the left port, but joy & mouse are not working when using the right port. Therefore I think we can assume the port is the issue.

Thanks.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STe - one controler port dead

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:06 pm

You may want to check more than just the joystick port for soldering problems. If you can check your board closely with a magnifying glass, you may find other dry joints with problems.

If you have another ST or STE with a good keyboard you can use it to see if there is a problem with the keyboard or STE.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6862
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe - one controler port dead

Post by exxos » Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:17 pm

docrv wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:48 pm
So kind to reply.
Yes, I crossed check with a (working) mouse and a (working) joystick. Everything is allright using the left port, but joy & mouse are not working when using the right port. Therefore I think we can assume the port is the issue.
are you using the diagnostic cartridge or some software to check the ports ? The mouse only works in 1 port. Joystick will work on both, but you need some software to check exactly what is going on.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

docrv
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:34 pm

Re: STe - one controler port dead

Post by docrv » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:24 am

Hello friends,

I spend an hour to redo 80% of the contacts, and it worked !
Same treatment for some soldering points on the motherboard that didn't look healthy (keyboard connector and the blue filters).

"The mouse only works in 1 port". Thanks for the reminder. I forgot my basics ;-)

The issue is gone. Thank you all for your support !

DocRV

Post Reply