Bad resistor?

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
User avatar
jan.pohan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Bad resistor?

Post by jan.pohan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:46 pm

Hello i have opened my Atari Ste, for checking DMA version, and i have found nearby DMA chip /square one/ this leaking resistor (see picture attached). But Atari works fine. Is it possible still save board? i have paid quite lot for this ste... thank for advices
Attachments
20190601_172320.jpg
20190601_172320.jpg (193.66 KiB) Viewed 504 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7872
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:08 pm

That will be flux.. something has been messing with the resistors and made a bit of a bad job of it by the looks of it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

tzok
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by tzok » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:26 pm

These are not even resistors, but just a fancy jumper wires... apparently someone moved them from one position to another from the top (without removing the board from bottom case).

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:52 pm

As tzok said, zero ohm resistors used as links. I'm guessing they were moved to change or upgrade the TOS ROMs. As exxos said, looks like a poor soldiering job, but you can probably clean up the flux with isopropyl alcohol
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
jan.pohan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by jan.pohan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:31 pm

Thanx guys for quick help. So it seems someone upgraded TOS chips probably? It has 1.62, but i thought it was standart for 1040 STE manufactured in 1990 and later... But TOS chips could be changed also because of language i think.
Also could you say if this is original floppy?
I was decided to do proffesional recap immediatelly, should i do it anyway or is it risk for board?

Thanx a lot
Attachments
20190601_172259.jpg
20190601_172259.jpg (145.85 KiB) Viewed 477 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7872
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:34 pm

Looks like original floppy.. STE machines mostly had 1.62 fitted, but early ones had 1.06... Most upgrade to 206 these days. Recapping the PSU should be done at least.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”