Bad resistor?

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
User avatar
jan.pohan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Bad resistor?

Post by jan.pohan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:46 pm

Hello i have opened my Atari Ste, for checking DMA version, and i have found nearby DMA chip /square one/ this leaking resistor (see picture attached). But Atari works fine. Is it possible still save board? i have paid quite lot for this ste... thank for advices
Attachments
20190601_172320.jpg
20190601_172320.jpg (193.66 KiB) Viewed 827 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10489
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:08 pm

That will be flux.. something has been messing with the resistors and made a bit of a bad job of it by the looks of it.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

tzok
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by tzok » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:26 pm

These are not even resistors, but just a fancy jumper wires... apparently someone moved them from one position to another from the top (without removing the board from bottom case).

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2389
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by rubber_jonnie » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:52 pm

As tzok said, zero ohm resistors used as links. I'm guessing they were moved to change or upgrade the TOS ROMs. As exxos said, looks like a poor soldiering job, but you can probably clean up the flux with isopropyl alcohol
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
jan.pohan
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by jan.pohan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:31 pm

Thanx guys for quick help. So it seems someone upgraded TOS chips probably? It has 1.62, but i thought it was standart for 1040 STE manufactured in 1990 and later... But TOS chips could be changed also because of language i think.
Also could you say if this is original floppy?
I was decided to do proffesional recap immediatelly, should i do it anyway or is it risk for board?

Thanx a lot
Attachments
20190601_172259.jpg
20190601_172259.jpg (145.85 KiB) Viewed 800 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10489
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bad resistor?

Post by exxos » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:34 pm

Looks like original floppy.. STE machines mostly had 1.62 fitted, but early ones had 1.06... Most upgrade to 206 these days. Recapping the PSU should be done at least.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”