Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:15 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:11 pm
If the person you got it says it is a known working one, then you could try this on your machine (If you trust that the power supply is working but can of course never be guaranteed with 30 year old tech) . But without it being serviced, it may not be any better than the power supply you are currently using anyway. It would basically be swapping a bad power supply out for another bad power supply.
Are those caps leaking? and I notice a small crack on the transformer.I guess if the machine acts differently that may help though.
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8587
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:18 pm

Cosmic Puppet wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Are those caps leaking? and I notice a small crack on the transformer.
They do not appear leaking know, the cracking the transformer is probably just superficial.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:19 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:18 pm
Cosmic Puppet wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Are those caps leaking? and I notice a small crack on the transformer.
They do not appear leaking know, the cracking the transformer is probably just superficial.
Okay, thanks. Just wanted to be safe.
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:43 pm

20191015_174002.jpg
20191015_174002.jpg (266.38 KiB) Viewed 306 times
Base doesn't align. Should I just test it loose? :?:
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8587
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:56 pm

Have you try to physically fit it ?, as generally there is no difference, if anything you may be slightly out because the metal gets bent easily.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:12 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:56 pm
Have you try to physically fit it ?, as generally there is no difference, if anything you may be slightly out because the metal gets bent easily.
It's too off and I don't want to force it. I've managed to plug in the connector and can at least test it.
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:47 pm

You're not gonna believe this guys, but the UK supply had the same problem. Now since it worked without the keyboard and was behaving exactly like the other power supply I decided to do a factory reset on the keyboard. I was skeptical as to whether this would have any affect, but it has!!!! Everything works! Music plays from the Atari and no crashing upon Notator loading. So....knowing the power is okay, if the crashes after long term use appear I will change out the RAM upgrade (hopefully this is it now) Many people would have given up.

Thanks!
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8587
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:54 pm

hmmmm... I wonder if you simply have a bad reset circuit in your machine then ?

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2175

And yes, well done for not quitting as many do!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:09 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:54 pm
hmmmm... I wonder if you simply have a bad reset circuit in your machine then ?

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2175

And yes, well done for not quitting as many do!
That's way over my head lol I'll make sure I make no channel changes on the keyboard and see if it recurs. I do get a MIDI OFFLINE! thing but I put that down to it being 10 years ahead of my last keyboard and therefore not as compatible. This keyboard has usb midi for editing the settings (old keyboard just had old midi pins). This doesn't normally cause issues as long as I set the sound palette before powering on the atari (this goes for using logic 5 on the pc too)

I need this so I'll never quit. Wrote an entire progressive pop album using an ST. Have tried using the object based sequencers but the do my head in arrangment wise and I've never finished any songs.
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Atari still crashing after power supply recap.

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:23 am

Cosmic Puppet wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:45 am
Ran YAART all night. It did 101 passes with 0 Errors. It's at pass 10 with dongle and as yet 0 Errors. I'm going to get a UK PSU and try that. It's acted so weird since I had this one recapped. The available RAM count on Notator started draining, counting down hundreds of bytes a second. Since the PSU was altered before the machine became this unusable I'm going to go with that first and see what happens.
I've realised tonight that the FREE RAM drain was probably the Roland's D-BEAM. Also had snip.acc loading on start up, and although it seemed okay I really would advise a clean setup where Notator is concerned.
Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB, TOS 1.04 (now using EmuTos), Ultrasatan with 14x 511MB gemdos drives, Original Floppy Drive.

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”