Page 1 of 1

Hello guys - TOS206 install issue

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:56 pm
by Yod801
Oi, Oi, Oi
this is Marcus living in Germany. I've ordered 2 sets of TOS2.06, of wich I broke one, for my Atari STE and it still won't work allthough I followed the instructions, that's why I'm on here. Hope to get me problem fixed

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:59 pm
by exxos
Yod801 wrote:
Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:56 pm
Oi, Oi, Oi
this is Marcus living in Germany. I've ordered 2 sets of TOS2.06, of wich I broke one, for my Atari STE and it still won't work allthough I followed the instructions, that's why I'm on here. Hope to get me problem fixed
Can you post a image of how you have installed them.

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:59 pm
by Yod801
yes I will

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:10 pm
by Yod801
Image

What you should know as well is:

- The screen currently shows 3 bombs for a split second before the computer resets itself when switching the STE, 4MB on
- I tried to insert one pair of chips the wrong way before and I hope I haven't fried any other parts of the computer by switching it on

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:14 pm
by exxos
Yod801 wrote:
Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:10 pm
- The screen currently shows 3 bombs for a split second before the computer resets itself when switching the STE, 4MB on
- I tried to insert one pair of chips the wrong way before and I hope I haven't fried any other parts of the computer by switching it on
Have you got the floppy drive connected ?

What ROM's did you have in originally ?

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:18 pm
by exxos
It looks like you not changed the jumper links..

Image

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:22 pm
by Yod801
I've got the floppy drive connected. Just checked the connectors.

I'm very sure II had TOS1.06 installed before my first attempt

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:26 pm
by Yod801
Sorry, haven't seen your early reply by posting. What jumper links do you mean? The two resistors in W102? They are one further to the left in your picture. I noticed ....

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:28 pm
by exxos
Yod801 wrote:
Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:26 pm
Sorry, haven't seen your early reply by posting. What jumper links do you mean? The two resistors in W102? They are one further to the left in your picture. I noticed ....
W104 & W102. Look at my image in comparison to your image, your jumper links are set to your original chips, not the new ones.

They look like resistors, but they are 0 ohms resistors, basically just wire links.

Re: Hello guys

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:34 pm
by Yod801
works now, thank you very much!